Printer Friendly Version

BellaOnline's Boy Scouts Editor

Duty to God

In the Scout Promise we promise to “…do my duty to God…” The twelfth point of the Scout Law is “A Scout is Reverent.” As Scout Sunday and Scout Sabbath approaches, we are all reminded of this important part of the Scouting program. Both youth and adults are encouraged to wear their uniforms to the religious service of the faith of their choice to show support for faith in Scouting.

Religious emblem programs are available through the sponsoring churches. The BSA recognizes end encourages participation in church programs and allows Scouts and Scouters who have received these awards to wear them on the Scout uniform.

How many programs are there and how do you participate in them? On the Scouting Religious Award web page there are 98 religious awards pictured on the chart of Religious programs. How long it takes to get an award, who may be a counselor for the award and who is eligible for the award all vary depending on the sponsoring organization. To view the chart and find out more information about the awards go to http://www.scouting.org/awards/religious/

Perhaps the newest religious award is the Venturing TRUST award. Like the Ranger Award is the advanced award for the Outdoor Bronze Award, the TRUST Award is the advanced award for the Religious Development Bronze Award.

Another group offers a number of religious programs for youth, adults and organizations. This group is PRAY- Programs of Religious Activities with Youth. The PRAY website is http://praypub.org/main_frameset.htm There are numerous programs discussed, including a Religious Emblem training course that will be offered at the Philmont Training Center in July 2006. Some of the adult awards are outlined below.
Adult Nominations:
God and Service
Episcopal St. George
Baptist Good Shepherd
Lutheran Lamb
Lutheran Servant of Youth
Presbyterian Celtic Cross
Eastern Orthodox Prophet Elias
Friends Emblem
Jewish Shofar (BSA only)

There are numerous religious organizations that offer unit and special recognitions. Some of these organizations are listed below. This is not a complete list and should not be interpreted as favoring one religious group over another. It is provided so you can see the variety of ways Scouts can demonstrate their “duty to God.” These are not links- you must copy the address and paste it.

National Lutheran Association on Scouting http://www.nlas.org/index.htm http://www.nlas.org/lreawd.htm

National Association of Presbyterian Scouters www.presbyterianscouters.org

National Catholic Committee on Scouting www.nccs-bsa.org
Unit Awards and other awards

National Jewish Committee on Scouting http://www.jewishscouting.org/
Unit recognition award http://www.scouting.org/relationships/15-251/index.html

National Buddhist Committee on Scouting www.eagnet.com/edipage/areaserv/nbcs/home.htm

Churches of Christ for Scouting http://www.acu.edu/sponsored/mccs/servant.html

Eastern Orthodox Committee on Scouting http://eocs.org/Religious%20Awards.htm

North American Hindu Association http://www.naha.us/programsAction.do

Friends Committee on Scouting http://scouting.quaker.org/page3.html

This site needs an editor - click to learn more!

Boy Scouts Site @ BellaOnline
View This Article in Regular Layout

Content copyright © 2013 by Erik Moeller. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Erik Moeller. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Editor Wanted for details.

| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2016 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor