Printer Friendly Version

BellaOnline's Latin Music Editor

Premio Lo Nuestro Awards (2008)

The 2008 Premio Lo Nuestro Awards, broadcast live on Univision on February 21, marked the 20th anniversary of the popular Latin music awards event. The ceremony was hosted by Pedro Fernández and Patricia Navidad and included performances by Juanes, Elvis Crespo, Maná, Olga Tañon, Aventura, and others. The biggest winners of the night were bachata boy band Aventura and Mexican group Intocable. Aventura took home four awards in the tropical category for Album of the Year, Group of the Year, Song of the Year, and Traditional Artist of the Year. Intocable took home three awards in the regional Mexican music category for Album of the Year, Group/Duo of the Year, and Norteño Artist of the Year. Also notable was the much-awaited recognition of female reggaeton artist Ivy Queen for her album Sentimiento; she won Album of the Year in the urban category.

The following is a list of the Premio Lo Nuestro winners for 2008. Check out these artists and albums to listen to the latest in Latin music.

Premio Lo Nuestro a la Excelencia (Lifetime Achievement Award): Vicente Fernández

Album of the Year: Ricky Martin MTV Unplugged (Ricky Martin)
Male Artist of the Year: Chayanne
Female Artist of the Year: Belinda
Group/Duo of the Year: Camila
Breakout Artist of the Year: Jennifer Lopez
Song of the Year: Todo Cambió (Camila)

Album of the Year: Oye (Aterciopelados)
Artist of the Year: Maná
Song of the Year: Bendita Tu Luz (Maná & Juan Luis Guerra)

Album of the Year: Sentimiento (Ivy Queen)
Artist of the Year: Wisin y Yandel
Song of the Year: Pegao (Wisin y Yandel)

Regional Mexican Music
Album of the Year: Crossroads: Cruce de Caminos (Intocable)
Male Artist of the Year: Marco Antonio Solis
Female Artist of the Year: Jenni Rivera
Group/Duo of the Year: Intocable
Song of the Year: La Noche Perfecta (El Chapo de Sinaloa)
Banda of the Year: Juan Sebastian

Album of the Year: K.O.B. Live (Aventura)
Male Artist of the Year: Juan Luis Guerra
Female Artist of the Year: Olga Tañon
Group/Duo of the Year: Aventura
Song of the Year: Mi Corazoncito (Aventura)

Tropical Merengue Artist of the Year: Olga Tañon

Tropical Salsa Artist of the Year: Marc Anthony

Tropical Traditional Artist of the Year: Aventura

Video of the Year: Impacto (Daddy Yankee)

Recommended Music:
If you are looking to add today's hottest Latin music to your collection, consider this year's Premio Lo Nuestro winners for Album of the Year in their respective categories.

This site needs an editor - click to learn more!

Latin Music Site @ BellaOnline
View This Article in Regular Layout

Content copyright © 2013 by Karin Norgard. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Karin Norgard. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Editor Wanted for details.

| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2018 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor