Printer Friendly Version

BellaOnline's Children's Books Editor

Stacia Deutsch and Rhody Cohon

The Blast to the Past book collection is by Stacia Deutsch and Rhody Cohon. It contains early reader chapter books for children eight to twelve-years-old. Early reader chapter books are for children making the transition from picture books to chapter books. Each book has just a little over one hundred pages with short chapters. There is an illustration in each chapter to give visual clues to the text.

Here is a little history for readers unfamiliar with the Blast to the Past book collection. Mr. C or Mr. Caruthers is a history teacher and part-time scientist. He invented a time machine. Babs McGee stole it. She wants fame without doing the actual work. Therefore, she travels to the past to take credit for the inventions and ideas of others.

Babs McGee stole a copy of Mr. Caruthers’ list of famous Americans when she stole the time machine. She plans to make historic people quit their dreams and stop doing whatever they were supposed to do. Whenever Mr. Caruthers discovers a famous person not in the textbook, but Babs McGee instead, he knows historical corrections are needed.

Historical corrections are made by four third-graders: Abigail, Zack, Bo and Jacob. They call themselves the History Club. They meet after school on Mondays. The foursome with the aid of a second time machine return to the past and undo McGee’s mischief. Club members move from one time to another by time portals. McGee is always one step ahead of the kids.

Children identify with the students in the History Club. They find the books humorous and full of action. Along the way, the reader and club members learn important historical facts. The books are so-well written the facts do not slow the books' pace. At the end of each book, there are more historical facts about the true person.

Stacia Deutsch and Rhody Cohon Series

1. Lincoln’s Legacy

2. Disney’s Dream

3. Bell’s Breakthrough

4. King’s Courage

5. Sacagawea’s Strength

6. Ben Franklin’s Fame

7. Washington’s War

8. Betsy Ross’s Star.

Blast to the Past Books at Amazon.com

More Children Books

Dr. Seuss Books
Don Freeman's Books
Stan Berenstain's Books
Magic Tree House Books
Chronicles of Narnia Books
A Series of Unfortunate Events Books

Children's Books Site @ BellaOnline
View This Article in Regular Layout

Content copyright © 2013 by Taisha Turner. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Taisha Turner. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Launa Stout for details.

| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2016 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor