Printer Friendly Version

BellaOnline's Children's Books Editor

Blast to the Past Books

The Blast to the Past books are by Stacia Deutsch and Rhody Cohon. They are early reader chapter books for children between four to eight-years-old. Early reader chapter books are for children making the transition from picture books to chapter books. Each Blast to the Past book has just a little over one hundred pages divided into short chapters. Illustrations in each chapter give visual clues to the authors' text.

Here is a little history for visitors unfamiliar with the Blast to the Past books. Mr. C or Mr. Caruthers is a history teacher and part-time scientist. He invents a time machine. Babs McGee steals it. She wants fame without earning it. Therefore, she travels into the past to take credit for the inventions and ideas of others.

Babs McGee steals a copy of Mr. Caruthers’ list of famous Americans when she steals the time machine. She plans to make historic people quit their dreams and not do whatever they are to do. Whenever, Mr. Caruthers discovers a famous person not in a textbook, but Babs McGee instead, he knows historical corrections are needed.

Historical corrections are made by four third-graders: Abigail, Zack, Bo and Jacob. They call themselves the History Club. The club meets after school on Mondays. The foursome via a second time machine travel to the past and undo McGee’s mischief. Club members move from one time period to another by time portals.

Kids identify with the students in the History Club. They find the adventure books humorous and full of action. Along the way, the early chapter book reader and club members learn important historical facts. Blast to the Past books are so-well written the facts do not slow the pace. At the end of each book, there are more historical facts about the actual person.

Blast to the Past Books

1. Lincoln’s Legacy

2. Disney’s Dream

3. Bell’s Breakthrough

4. King’s Courage

5. Sacagawea’s Strength

6. Ben Franklin’s Fame

7. Washington’s War

8. Betsy Ross’s Star.

More Children Books

Dr. Seuss Books
Don Freeman's Books
Stan Berenstain's Books
Magic Tree House Books
Chronicles of Narnia Books
A Series of Unfortunate Events Books

Children's Books Site @ BellaOnline
View This Article in Regular Layout

Content copyright © 2013 by Taisha Turner. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Taisha Turner. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Launa Stout for details.

| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2018 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor