mexico Newsletter


October 31 2010 Mexico Newsletter

Here's the latest article from the Mexico site at

Quintana Roo Where Are You?
Mexico is a heterogenous nation. It is much more than solely tropical beach resorts (or endless desert or sprawling metropolitan areas or rustic villages or steamy jungles or border crossings). It is the sum of its diverse parts. This article lists its nine regions, its states, and capital cities.

????????? Question of the week ?????????
The word "huaraches" has two very different definitions. What are they?
The answer will appear in next week's Around and About Mexico, but it would be great if you would email me your answer before then!

Answer from last week's question:
There are 12 capital cities in Mexico that have the same name as the state that they are in: Zacatecas, San Luis Potosi, Aguascalientes, Guanajuato, Queretaro, Colima, Puebla, Tlaxcala, Chihuahua, Durango, Oaxaca, and Campeche. Interestingly, all five of the state capitals in the "Colonial" Central region of Mexico-Zacatecas, San Luis Potosi, Aguascalientes, Guanajuato, and Queretaro-do so. I can only guess as to why. Do you know why?

Please visit for even more great content about Mexico.

To participate in free, fun online discussions, this site has a community forum all about Mexico located here -

I hope to hear from you sometime soon, either in the forum or in response to this email message. I truly look forward to your feedback!

Have fun passing this message along to family and friends, because we all appreciate free and useful information!

Les Shulman, Mexico Editor

One of hundreds of sites at

Unsubscribe from the Mexico Newsletter

Online Newsletter Archive for Mexico Site

Master List of BellaOnline Newsletters

Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map