Printer Friendly Version

BellaOnline's Anime Editor

Fullmetal Alchemist The Complete Second Season

Fullmetal Alchemist The Complete Second Season is a four-disc set that contains episodes 26 through 51 of the series. The first disc contains seven episodes, the second disc contains six episodes, the third disc contains six episodes, and the fourth disc contains six episodes, a commentary on episode 51, and the extras. On the discs, you can watch with either English or Japanese audio, and you can choose whether or not to have the English subtitles.

The first extra included on the fourth disc is a 31 minute documentary titled, "The Transmutation of a Phenomenon." This documentary includes interviews with some of the actors for the English dub, and they talk about various aspects of the series and their characters.

The next feature is labeled as "Square Enix Commercial." It runs for two minutes, and is an ad for the Fullmetal Alchemist 2: Curse of the Crimson Elixir videogame. The third special feature on the disc is the textless openings and closings. This feature includes two of the openings and two of the closings for the series. Unlike the first box set, you don't get the English subtitles on the openings and closings if you're watching with Japanese audio. The final extra are trailers for Project Blue Earth SOS, One Piece, Dragon Ball Z, Dragon Ball GT, Glass Fleet, Ragnarok, Tsubasa, and Case Closed.

When this DVD set was put together, FUNimation included the booklets from the seven individual discs that were released that included these episodes. The first booklet starts with episode 25, which was released on the first Fullmetal Alchemist box set. Outside of that, everything else lines up. Each booklet contains at least one write-up from someone involved with the series (the first six booklets contain a write-up from one of the Japanese voice actors, while the final booklet contains write-ups from two of the actors from the English dub who also directed the dubbing sessions). There is also character information and images, information from the series, artwork, and episode write-ups. The booklets are very well-done and contain a lot of information.

The quality of the series continues to be very high on this box set. That, along with the quality of the booklets, make this a release worth owning. If you're a fan of Fullmetal Alchemist who wants to own the whole series on DVD, then this box set should be part of your anime collection.

In order to write this review, I watched a copy of this DVD box set that was given to me as a gift by my husband.

Disc 1
Disc 2
Her Reason
All Is One, One Is All
The Untainted Child
Assault on South Headquarters
Dante of the Deep Forest

Al, Captured
Theory Of Avarice
Reunion of the Fallen
The Sinner Within
The Flame Alchemist, The Bachelor Lieutenant,
and the Mystery of Warehouse 13
With the River's Flow
Secret Of Ishbal

Disc 3
Disc 4
The Scar
Holy Mother
His Name Is Unknown
The Stray Dog
Hohenheim Of Light
A Rotted Heart

Human Transmutation
Sealing The Homunculus
The Other Side of the Gate
Laws And Promises

Bonus Features

This site needs an editor - click to learn more!

Anime Site @ BellaOnline
View This Article in Regular Layout

Content copyright © 2013 by Lesley Aeschliman. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Lesley Aeschliman. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Editor Wanted for details.

| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2016 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor