Printer Friendly Version

BellaOnline's Anime Editor

Dragon Ball Z Season Four Box Set

The Dragon Ball Z Season Four DVD box set includes six DVDs that contain 32 episodes. The first three discs contain six episodes, discs four and five contain five episodes, and the sixth disc contains four episodes and the DVD extras.

On the main menu of the first five discs, you can choose to watch all the episodes, watch the disc with the marathon feature, choose which episode you want to watch, and set up your language and subtitle options. One of the best things about this DVD set is the marathon feature. This feature allows you to watch all of the episodes back-to-back, but you only see the opening credits once; the ending credits are not shown when watching with the marathon feature. This feature really helps when you're trying to watch all the episodes on a single disc in one sitting. Luckily, none of the story arcs on this set were dragged out for a ridiculous amount of time.

In the setup menu, you can choose between the English audio from when the series originally aired on television, the English dialogue with the original Japanese music, and Japanese dialogue and music. In this menu, you can also choose to turn the subtitles on and off.

The menu on the sixth DVD adds in a link for the special features. However, there isn't much of anything in the way of special features included with this set. All you get are the textless versions of the opening and ending credits (this feature was already included on the first three DVD box sets), and trailers. Unfortunately, these features aren't very "special." The trailers included on this set are for the Dragon Ball Movie 3-Pack, Dragon Ball Z, Origin, Blue Gender, Ragnarok, and the Z-Store.

Another problem with this set is the audio mastering levels. FUNimation's opening splash screen and the trailer at the beginning of each DVD were mastered at a high audio level, but the menu and the actual episodes were mastered with a rather soft audio level. It's frustrating to have to sharply turn the volume down when you put the DVD into the player, and then having to turn the volume back up considerably in order to hear the audio for the episodes.

While I was disappointed with the audio levels and the lack of special features, this set is still a "must get" for any Dragon Ball Z fan that wants all the episodes on DVD. This 32-episode set sells for anywhere between $30 and $50. It's not too bad of a price, considering that you get 32 episodes in the set. However, it would be a little more worth the cost if FUNimation had put more effort into the special features.

In order to write this review, I checked out a copy of this DVD box set through the King County Library System.

Disc 1
Disc 2
Disc 3
The Heavens Tremble
Black Fog of Terror
Battle in Kami's Lookout
Fight With Piccolo
Call For Restoration
Suicidal Course
Extreme Measures
The World Awakens
Brief Chance for Victory
Krillin's Proposal
Frieza's Counterattack
The Mysterious Youth
Another Super Saiyan
Welcome Back Goku
Mystery Revealed
Goku's Special Technique
Z Warriors Prepare
Goku's Ordeal

Disc 4
Disc 5
Disc 6
The Androids Appear
A Handy Trick
Double Trouble for Goku
Upgrade to Super Saiyan
The Secret of Dr. Gero

More Androids
Follow Dr. Gero
Nightmare Comes True
Goku's Assassin
Deadly Beauty

No Match for the Androids
Last Ditch Effort
Closing In
Unwelcome Discovery

Bonus Features

This site needs an editor - click to learn more!

Anime Site @ BellaOnline
View This Article in Regular Layout

Content copyright © 2013 by Lesley Aeschliman. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Lesley Aeschliman. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Editor Wanted for details.

| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2016 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor