Printer Friendly Version

BellaOnline's Anime Editor

Dragon Ball Z Season Five Box Set

The Dragon Ball Z Season Five DVD box set includes six DVDs that contain 26 episodes. The first two discs contain six episodes, the third disc contains five episodes, the fourth and fifth discs contain three episodes, and the sixth disc contains three episodes and the DVD extras. The focus of the episodes on this set is the Imperfect Cell saga and the Perfect Cell saga.

On the main menu of the first five discs, you can choose to watch all the episodes, watch the disc with the marathon feature, choose which episode you want to watch, and set up your language and subtitle options. One of the best things about this DVD set is the marathon feature. This feature allows you to watch all of the episodes back-to-back, but you only see the opening credits once; the ending credits are not shown when watching the marathon feature. This feature is really helpful when you're trying to watch all of the episodes on a single disc in one sitting.

In the setup menu, you can choose between the English audio from when the series originally aired on television, the English dialogue with the original Japanese music, and Japanese dialogue and music. In this menu, you can also choose to turn the subtitles on and off.

The menu on the sixth DVD adds in a link for the special features, which really aren't very special. All you get are the textless versions of the opening and ending credits (which is a feature that was already included on the previous four DVD box sets), and trailers. The trailers included on this set are for xxxHolic, Glass Fleet, Black Cat, Fullmetal Alchemist, Dragon Ball Z, One Piece, Baki the Grappler, and Samurai 7.

Another issue I have with this set is with the audio mastering levels. FUNimation's opening splash screen, the trailers at the beginning of the DVDs, and the menu were mastered at a high audio level. However, the actual episodes on the discs were mastered with a very soft audio level. It's rather frustrating to have to sharply turn the volume down when you put the DVD into the player, and then having to sharply turn the audio back up in order to hear the audio for the episodes.

While I was disappointed with the audio levels and the lack of special features, this set is still a "must get" for any Dragon Ball Z fan that wants all the episodes on DVD. This 26-episode set sells for anywhere between $30 and $50. The price is a little disappointing for this set, since you paid the same price for the previous four sets but you get more episodes on the previous volumes.

In order to write this review, I checked out a copy of this DVD box set through the King County Library System.

Disc 1
Disc 2
Disc 3
Seized With Fear
The Reunion
Borrowed Powers
His Name Is Cell
Piccolo's Folly
Laboratory Basement
Our Hero Awakens
Time Chamber
The Monster Is Coming
He's Here
Up To Piccolo
Silent Warrior
Say Goodbye, 17
Saiyans Emerge
Super Vegeta
Bow to the Prince

Disc 4
Disc 5
Disc 6
Hour Of Temptation
Krillin's Decision
Last Defense

Cell Is Complete
Vegeta Must Pay
Trunks Ascends

Saving Throw
Ghosts From Tomorrow
The Cell Games

Bonus Features

This site needs an editor - click to learn more!

Anime Site @ BellaOnline
View This Article in Regular Layout

Content copyright © 2013 by Lesley Aeschliman. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Lesley Aeschliman. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Editor Wanted for details.

| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2018 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor