Printer Friendly Version

BellaOnline's Anime Editor

Dragon Ball Season Two Box Set

The Dragon Ball Season Two DVD box set includes five DVDs that contain 30 episodes. The first three discs contain seven episodes, the fourth disc contains six episodes, and the fifth disc contains three episodes and the DVD extras. The focus of this box set is Goku's search for the Dragon Balls, and his various run-ins with the Red Ribbon Army.

On the main menu of the first four discs, you can choose to watch all the episodes, watch the disc with the marathon feature, choose which episode you want to watch, and set up your language and subtitle options. One of the best features of this set is the marathon feature; this allows you to watch all of the episodes back-to-back. However, with the marathon feature, you only see the opening credits once, and the ending credits are not shown. This feature is very helpful when you're trying to watch all of the episodes on a disc in a single sitting. In the setup menu, you can choose between English and Japanese audio. You can also choose to turn the subtitles on and off.

The menu on the sixth DVD adds in a link for the special features. However, the features aren't very special. All you get are the textless versions of the opening and ending credits (which are the same as what appeared on the first DVD box set), and trailers. The trailers included on this set are for Nabari no Ou, Tsubasa, Fullmetal Alchemist, Evangelion 1.01, One Piece, Spice and Wolf, Comic Party Revolution, and Dragon Ball.

In some respects, I thought the episodes on this set were decent, but they weren't quite as good as what appeared on the first box set. I thought the section where Goku ends up at Penguin Village was a bit on the strange side. My biggest disappointment with this set was how FUNimation decided to split the episodes between discs. Instead of making a five disc set with five episodes on each disc, or a set where the episodes divide out a little more evenly, they decided to cram as many episodes as they could on the early discs in the set, and only placing three measly episodes on the final disc.

While I'm a little disappointed by the episode breakdown of the discs and by the lack of special features, this set is still a "must get" for any Dragon Ball fans that want to own the series on DVD.

In order to write this review, I checked out a copy of this DVD box set through the King County Library System.

Disc 1
Disc 2
Disc 3
The Flying Fortress Vanished!
The Legend of a Dragon
Cruel General Red
Cold Reception
Major Metallitron
Ninja Murasaki Is Coming!
Five Murasakis
Mysterious Android No. 8
Horrifying Buyon
The Fall of Muscle Tower
The Secret of Dr. Flappe
A Trip to the City
Master Thief, Hasky
Danger in the Air
Bulma's Bad Day
Kame House Found!
Deep Blue Sea
Roshi Surprise
The Trap Is Sprung
Beware Of Robot
The Pirate Treasure

Disc 4
Disc 5
Blue, Black and Blue
Escape From Pirate Cave
Penguin Village
Strange Visitor
Arale vs. Blue
The Land of Korin
The Notorious Mercenary
Tao Attacks!
Korin Tower

Bonus Features

This site needs an editor - click to learn more!

Anime Site @ BellaOnline
View This Article in Regular Layout

Content copyright © 2013 by Lesley Aeschliman. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Lesley Aeschliman. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Editor Wanted for details.

| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2016 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor