Printer Friendly Version

BellaOnline's New Age Editor

Basic Seven Chakra Information

One of the basic tenets of New Age is that each human body has seven chakras - energy locations which can be blocked, healed, and even seen by some.

Chakras are a core belief of yoga, and have been incorporated into many different new age practices. The chakra system was first developed in India in the middle ages. The word "chakra" is a sanskrit word meaning wheel.

The major chakras are located along the spinal column of the body - starting at your perineum and going up to the top of your head at your crown. Each chakra is traditionally represented by a different color of the rainbow - starting with red at the bottom up to violet on the crown. Each chakra location represents different emotions and feelings.

Ideally all the chakras should be balanced- open and spinning at a similar rate to each other. Most of us however have some chakras which are overactive
and others that are closed down or underactive.

Read on to learn more about each chakra!

First Chakra - Root Chakra - Red
Second Chakra - Sacral Chakra - Orange
Third Chakra - Solar Plexus Chakra - Yellow
Fourth Chakra - Heart Chakra - Green
Fifth Chakra - Throat Chakra - Blue
Sixth Chakra - Brow Chakra - Indigo
Seventh Chakra - Crown Chakra - Violet

Anodea Judith's DVD is a great introduction to the chakras and a visual treat.

New Age Site @ BellaOnline
View This Article in Regular Layout

Content copyright © 2013 by Lisa Shea. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Lisa Shea. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Deanna Leigh Joseph for details.

| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2015 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor