g Text Version
Beauty & Self
Books & Music
Food & Wine
Health & Fitness
Hobbies & Crafts
Home & Garden
News & Politics
Religion & Spirituality
Travel & Culture
TV & Movies

Bored? Games!
Take a Quiz
Rate My Photo

Natural Living
Folklore and Mythology
Distance Learning

All times in EST

Full Schedule
g New Age Site

BellaOnline's New Age Editor


Chakra Basics

The human body is a complex energy system. It is surrounded by an energy field known as the aura. Additionally, along the spine are energy centers known as chakras. The chakras are the channels for the vital life forces, that when flowing in a balanced and harmonious way, activate and maintain well-being in the physical, mental, and emotional bodies.

There are seven major chakras, and each chakra resembles a swirling vortex that originates from a specific place on the spine. Each chakra governs a part of the physical, mental, and emotional body.

Root Chakra
The first chakra, known as the Root Chakra, is located at the base of the spine, and is brilliant red. Itís the energetic center for the connection to family, or tribe, cultural belief systems, and the sense of belonging. Physically, it governs the legs, rectum and immune system. On an emotional level itís related to the ability to provide for oneself and ones family.

You help keep this chakra clear by having gratitude for your life and family.

Affirmation: I am part of all life, and I am safe and secure. The Universe loves and supports me.

Sacral Chakra
The second chakra, known as the Sacral Chakra, is located just above the pubic bone, and is brilliant orange. Itís the energetic center of creation, manifestation, harmony, and co-creative relationships. Physically, it governs the sexual organs, hips and intestines. On an emotional level itís related to the ability to connect with others, and create harmonious relationships.

You help keep this chakra clear by having gratitude for all your relationships.

Affirmation: I give thanks for everyone in my life; those who have loved me, and those who have taught me when itís time to let things go. I now release energies that no longer serve me. I am a powerful manifestor.

Solar Plexus
The third chakra, known as the Solar Plexus, is located just above the belly button, and is brilliant yellow. Itís the energetic center for personal power, and individuality. Physically, it governs the stomach, liver, gallbladder, kidneys, pancreas and intestines. On an emotional level itís the center of self-esteem and confidence in oneís abilities, and the motivation to express those talents.

You help keep this chakra clear by having gratitude for your talents and gifts.

Affirmation: I am guided by a powerful creative force, and I trust the creative power that works through me.

Heart Chakra
The fourth chakra, known as the Heart Chakra, is located at the sternum, and is brilliant green. Itís the energetic center of love, compassion, forgiveness, and understanding. Physically, it governs the heart, lungs, shoulders and breasts. On an emotional level itís the center for love, compassion, anger and grief.

You help to keep this chakra clear by taking care of yourself, and honoring your need to give and receive love.

Affirmation: I am love in action. I am open to giving and receiving love. I am supported by a friendly and loving Universe.

Throat Chakra
The fifth chakra, known as the Throat Chakra, is located on the throat, and is brilliant sky blue. Itís the energetic center of communication, authenticity, speaking, embodying, and living oneís truth. Physically, it governs the teeth, mouth and throat. On an emotional level itís the center of personal will, addiction, and the ability to make decisions.

You help to keep this chakra clear by surrendering your personal will to your divine nature.

Affirmation: I align my will with Divine will. I easily accept that which is for my highest good.

Third Eye
The sixth chakra, known as the Third Eye, is located just between the eyebrows, and is brilliant indigo. Itís the energetic center of intuition, clarity, and understanding divine truth and the soulís purpose. Physically, it governs the brain, eyes, ears and nose. On an emotional level itís the center of truth and self-knowledge.

You help to keep this chakra clear by seeking your divine truth.

Affirmation: I gladly receive the higher wisdom that is always available to me. I expand my capacity to receive understanding. My soul is guiding me.

Crown Chakra
The seventh chakra, known as the Crown Chakra, is located at the top of the skull, and is brilliant violet. Itís the energetic center for faith, intention, and divine power. Physically it governs the skin, muscular and skeletal systems. On an emotional level itís the center for selflessness, humanitarianism, faith and spiritual devotion.

You help to keep this chakra clear by staying in the present moment, and making choices for your divinity.

Affirmation: Everything I do energizes me, and I consciously choose to do things that inspire me. My divinity expresses through me in limitless and joyful ways.

When the chakras are out of balance, you may not notice it at first. It may start off as a vague feeling thatís emotional in nature; melancholy, or listlessness, and lack of motivation. However, if the imbalance continues to be untreated, overall well-being can be greatly impacted. This can manifest in your life as trouble with relationships, self-care, trust issues, low self-esteem, or lacking purpose and direction.

To bring the chakras back into balance, you can visit an energy healer, or you can start by trying a simple visualization in which you see each of the chakras spinning brightly and clearly.

Keeping your chakras in balance is a vital part of your good health and well-being. It allows them to work in harmony, keeping you in balance on a physical, mental, and emotional level.

Balanced chakras mean well-being and joy. With the Chakra Analysis, you find out where your imbalances are, and what you can do about it! Receive your own in-depth Chakra Analysis from Deanna.

Add Chakra+Basics to Twitter Add Chakra+Basics to Facebook Add Chakra+Basics to MySpace Add Chakra+Basics to Digg Chakra+Basics Add Chakra+Basics to Yahoo My Web Add Chakra+Basics to Google Bookmarks Add Chakra+Basics to Stumbleupon Add Chakra+Basics to Reddit

RSS | Related Articles | Editor's Picks Articles | Top Ten Articles | Previous Features | Site Map

For FREE email updates, subscribe to the New Age Newsletter

Past Issues

Printer Friendly
tell friend
Tell a Friend
Email Editor

Content copyright © 2018 by Deanna Leigh Joseph. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Deanna Leigh Joseph. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Deanna Leigh Joseph for details.


g features
Universal Energies of 2018

Using a Ouija Board

Epidote the Stone of Manifestation

Archives | Site Map


Past Issues

Note: BellaOnline uses cookies to help provide a consistent user experience. Our advertisers may use cookies to help customize ads. Please contact us with any question about our cookie use.

Summertime Foods
Corn on the Cob
Burgers on the Grill
Apple Pie


| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2018 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor