Printer Friendly Version

BellaOnline's SF/Fantasy Books Editor

Days of Magic, Nights of War by Clive Barker

In his young adult fantasy novel, Days of Magic, Nights of War, Clive Barker continues the story of Candy Quackenbush and her trip to the Abarat, where each isle is a different hour of the day. She is still pursued by the minions of Christopher Carrion, The Lord of Midnight, who wants to bring her back to Gorgossium. She still canít shake the feeling that she somehow belongs to the Abarat and feels an odd connection to the now dead Princess Boa.

Carrion and his grandmother, Mater Motley, are planning a war to bring total darkness to all the hours. Fearing that Candy has the power to stop them, they want to capture her. Carrion however may have another motive, one he doesnít recognize until he learns the truth about who Candy is. Fairly early in the novel, Candy and her companion Malingo are separated. When Candy is captured, she must confront Carrion on her own. We also see what is happening back in Candyís hometown, Chickentown. Candyís mother knows something odd happened the night Candy was born and she is positive he daughterís disappearance is related. Many residents can feel something ominous in the air and many can even smell salt water on the breeze from the fields.

Days of Magic, Nights of War is even more enjoyable than the first book in this series. There is more storytelling in this one with events from both the Abarat and Chickentown written. While the first was more notable for Barkerís imaginative settings and creatures, Days of Magic Nights of War has more storytelling. We learn several key things about Candy and Carrion while all the plotlines intertwine. I am looking forward to the next book in this series.

My Recommendation
I highly recommend Days of Magic, Nights of War by Clive Barker to anyone who read Abarat and enjoyed it. Because many of the the events in this novel depend on previous events, reading Abarat first is a must. For an interesting and interactive look at the Abarat visit The Abarat website.

Similar to:
Imajica by Clive Barker (written for adults)
The Thief of Always by Clive Barker (written for ages 9-12)

I reviewed Days of Magic, Nights of War from my own personal library

SF/Fantasy Books Site @ BellaOnline
View This Article in Regular Layout

Content copyright © 2013 by Laura Lehman. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Laura Lehman. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Evelyn Rainey for details.

| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2016 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor