Printer Friendly Version

BellaOnline's Children's Books Editor

The Mystery at Skeleton Point - Book Review

The Mystery at Skeleton Point is book #91 in the Boxcar Children’s series. Gertrude Chandler Warner creates the series. Henry, Jessie, Violet and Benny Alden are the Boxcar Children. They live with their grandfather.

In the early reader chapter book, The Mystery at Skeleton Point. The Boxcar children and their grandfather take a road trip. They are going to visit Aunt Charlotte. She has recently purchased a property called Skeleton Point. It got its name because a former owner had a large animal and human bone collection. Townspeople swear they see skeletons walking the property at night.

Grandfather Alden and Aunt Charlotte leave to visit a sick relative. What is happening at Aunt Charlotte’s new property at night? Benny, Henry, Jessie and Violet decide to discover the truth. The siblings’ love and care for each other shines forth in the book. The Mystery at Skeleton Point shows how they use their wiles to solve a problem. The young detectives gather evidence to solve the mystery and have fun as they do it.

Young readers identify with the Alden children. They love adventures with family and friends. The Alden children do fun things like bike rides, have picnics and go swimming. Also, they experience independence from adult supervision. This is something children in the target age group 8-12 crave in their personal life. They believe they are capable of handling problems. The Boxcar Children series offer these experiences in a book.

Try The Mystery at the Crooked House #79. Join the boys and girls detectives in another mystery.

Series and Sequels Books for Children
Young Detectives

I always imagined Paradise to be a....library. - Jorgelius Borges

Drop in the forum. Share your favorite Mystery book! Sign up to receive the Children's Books Review newsletter. Do not miss any future articles.

Picture Books for Children

More Children Books

List of Dr. Seuss Books
Don Freeman's Books
Stan Berenstain's Books
List of Magic Tree House Books
Chronicles of Narnia Books
A Series of Unfortunate Events Books

Children's Books Site @ BellaOnline
View This Article in Regular Layout

Content copyright © 2013 by Taisha Turner. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Taisha Turner. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Launa Stout for details.

| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2016 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor