g Text Version
Beauty & Self
Books & Music
Food & Wine
Health & Fitness
Hobbies & Crafts
Home & Garden
News & Politics
Religion & Spirituality
Travel & Culture
TV & Movies

Bored? Games!
Take a Quiz
Rate My Photo

Natural Living
Folklore and Mythology
Distance Learning

All times in EST

Full Schedule
g Wrestling Site

BellaOnline's Wrestling Editor


The National Wrestling Alliance

Guest Author - Vance Rowe

The National Wrestling Alliance, or better known as the NWA, is one of, if not the oldest, professional wrestling organizations still in existence today. It was formed in 1948 and spawned such companies as the WWE, WCW, ECW, the AWA, WCCW and TNA Impact. The illustrious organization introduced such wrestlers as Lou Thesz, Buddy Rogers, Ric Flair, and Verne Gagne to the wrestling world mainstream.

The NWA was once the biggest organization in the country and owned a bunch of territories as it still does today. There were different territorial champions but they only had one World champion and that champion would travel to the different territories to defend his title. The idea of different territories was to avoid rigorous anti-trust laws. Each territory had its own promoters but the NWA had one president that kind of oversaw everything. In 1948, when the NWA was formed, one territory did have its own World Champion and that was the Midwest Wrestling Association. The MWA was not officially part of the NWA yet and there were some other promotions that were not yet part of the NWA either. However, over the next several years, that would all change.

The World champion of the MWA was a man named Orville Brown and was recognized as the very first NWA World Heavyweight Champion. Enter Lou Thesz. Thesz defeated a man named Bill Longson to become the NWA World Heavyweight Champion. Orville Brown was still the MWA World Heavyweight champion but the MWA was being absorbed into the NWA completely and Thesz was supposed to fight Brown to unify the titles into one World title. However, Brown was in a car accident and had to retire from the ring so the match was cancelled. Two days after the match was supposed to have taken place, Lou Thesz was awarded the unified World title at an NWA convention.

Over the next few years as more territories were absorbed under the NWA banner, Lou Thesz unified those titles as well. The NWA has a rich title history as well. From Lou Thesz to Ric Flair and from Gene Kiniski to Dusty Rhodes, all of the big names of the 70s and the 80s probably became big names because they have all held the NWA World Title. The Funks, Sting, Dan Severn, Kerry Von Erich and of course, Harley Race are all part of the NWAs history. The NWA is still alive today with many offshoots around the world with the biggest probably being the NWA Southwest and are based in Texas. However there is a new NWA training facility that is opening soon in North Carolina.

NWA Carolinas Pro Wrestling
3021 Rocky Branch Rd.
Hamptonville, N.C. 27020

Professional wrestling is where it is today not because of Vince McMahon and Hulk Hogan but because of the National Wrestling Alliance. As I mentioned earlier in this article, companies like the WWE, ECW, TNA all were a part of the NWA.

This site needs an editor - click to learn more!

Add The+National+Wrestling+Alliance to Twitter Add The+National+Wrestling+Alliance to Facebook Add The+National+Wrestling+Alliance to MySpace Add The+National+Wrestling+Alliance to Digg The+National+Wrestling+Alliance Add The+National+Wrestling+Alliance to Yahoo My Web Add The+National+Wrestling+Alliance to Google Bookmarks Add The+National+Wrestling+Alliance to Stumbleupon Add The+National+Wrestling+Alliance to Reddit

The Legendary Lou Thesz
Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

For FREE email updates, subscribe to the Wrestling Newsletter

Past Issues

Printer Friendly
tell friend
Tell a Friend
Email Editor

Content copyright © 2018 by Vance Rowe. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Vance Rowe. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact BellaOnline Administration for details.


g features
Archives | Site Map


Past Issues

Note: BellaOnline uses cookies to help provide a consistent user experience. Our advertisers may use cookies to help customize ads. Please contact us with any question about our cookie use.

Summertime Foods
Corn on the Cob
Burgers on the Grill
Apple Pie


| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2018 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor