2010 Daytime Emmy Pre-Nominations Announced

2010 Daytime Emmy Pre-Nominations Announced
Well Days fans … there is no word when the 2010 Daytime Emmys will be broadcast, nor is it known which network will provide coverage of the show. Since 1974, the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences’ (NATAS) Daytime Entertainment Emmy Awards has recognized outstanding achievement in daytime entertainment programming broadcast between the hours of 2:00AM and 6:00PM, by conferring annual awards of merit in various categories. Emmys are considered the television equivalent to the Academy Awards (for film), Grammy Awards (for music) and Tony Awards (for stage). The presentation of these awards is intended to be an incentive for the continued pursuit of excellence.

Looking back on the very first Daytime Emmy Awards Ceremony, May 28, 1974 turned out to be an exciting night for the network. 1974’s NBC winners were:

Outstanding Drama Series
The Doctors

Outstanding Actor in a Daytime Drama Series
Macdonald Carey (as Dr. Tom Horton)

Best Individual Director for a Daytime Drama
Days of our Lives (Wes Kenny)

Since then, the board tweaks the rules on an annual basis. Here are a few interesting changes from the rulebook for the 2009-2010 Daytime Emmy Awards season:

Programs: Drama Series (One episode for one-hour shows, two episodes for half-hour series such as The Bold and the Beautiful)
The Emmy® award for Drama Series recognizes the work of the Executive Producer[s], Supervising Producer[s], Senior Producer[s], Producer[s], Coordinating Producer[s], Line Producer[s] and Consulting Producer[s] credited on a minimum of 19% of the original episodes on a Drama.

Performers: Any actor may enter the competition; however, only two will make it to the pre-nomination list. The Emmy® award for Younger Actress and Actor in a Drama Series recognizes the work of the Performer age 25 and under.

Crafts: The Emmy® award for Costume Design/Styling for a Drama Series recognizes the work of the [artisans] credited on a minimum of 40% of the original episodes on a Drama. The Emmy® award for Drama Series Writing and [Directing] Team[s] recognizes the work done of the [artisans] credited on a minimum of 19% of the original episodes or under contract for the entire year (1/1/09-12/31/09) on a Drama.

NATAS announced on February 26, 2010 the pre-nominations or the list of names in competition for the OFFICIAL Daytime Emmy nomination. The candidates below who received the highest number of votes for each show in each category will now advance to the final at-home screening round. This round, due to be conducted in March and April 2010, will determine both nominees and winners.

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series
John Aniston, as Victor Kiriakis
James Scott, as EJ DiMera

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series
Kristian Alfonso, as Hope Brady
Alison Sweeney, as Samantha (Sami) Brady

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series
Shawn Christian, as Dr. Daniel Jonas
Joseph Mascolo, as Stefano DiMera

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series
Nadia Bjorlin, as Chloe Lane
Arianne Zucker, as Nicole Walker

Outstanding Younger Actress in a Drama Series
Molly Burnett, as Melanie Layton
Shelley Hennig, as Stephanie Johnson

Outstanding Younger Actor in a Drama Series
Casey Deidrick, as Chad Woods
Dylan Patton, as Will Horton

Also noteworthy are the nominations for Crystal Chappell (Carly Manning) as Olivia Spencer on CBS’ Guiding Light; Julie Pinson (ex-Billie Reed) as Janet Snyder and Austin Peck (ex-Austin Reed) as Brad Snyder on CBS’ As the World Turns; and Brandon Beemer (ex-Shawn D. Brady) as Owen Knight and Kyle Lowder (ex-Brady Black) as Rick Forrester on CBS’ The Bold and the Beautiful.

Congratulations to all the DAYS pre-nominees! As always, SoapSuds will keep readers up to date on any new developing details for this year's awards!

This site needs an editor - click to learn more!

Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2022 by Alice Rienzo. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Alice Rienzo. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact BellaOnline Administration for details.