Printer Friendly Version

BellaOnline's Children's Books Editor

Middle Reader Books

Middle reader books are for young readers between the ages eight and twelve-years-old. These children are between picture books and complex chapter books. The characters in the books are usually in middle school, the grades four through seven. This reflects the grade levels of the readers. As a person would expect, the middle reader book becomes more difficult the higher the grade.

Middle reader books are commonly called tween books. The books present new vocabulary words. Middle reader books at the entry level still have illustrations. The chapters are short. Middle reader books have less than hundred-thirty pages.

A variety of subjects are in middle reader books. Choose books that reflect the reader's interests. There is adventure, mystery, fantasy, or whatever appeals to them. Also, there are books for each season and holiday of the year. There are middle reader books which reflect the emotional relationships of the age group. Alison Bellís Zibby Payne & the Wonderful, Terrible Tomboy Experiment is about a sixth grade girl. She finds herself between the familiar world of playground games and the unfamiliar one of adolescence.

Tweens should begin reading a series. Series compels young readers to seek out more books. Mary Pope Osborne has a very popular series, The Magic Tree House. Elizabeth Levy has a series about gymnasts, The Gymnasts. For girls who like horseback riding, there are The Saddle Club series. Sharon M. Draper has a series for African-American boys. It is the Black Dinosaur Club Mystery series. There are middle reader books for every taste to encourage young people to read.

"I always imagined Paradise to be a....library." - Jorgelius Borges

Drop in the forum. Share your favorite book! Sign up to receive the Children's Books Review newsletter. Do not miss any future articles.

Middle Reader Books

More Children Books

List of Dr. Seuss Books
Don Freeman's Books
Stan Berenstain's Books
List of Magic Tree House Books
Chronicles of Narnia Books
A Series of Unfortunate Events Books
Note: The review copies are from the publisher, the public and my private library.

Children's Books Site @ BellaOnline
View This Article in Regular Layout

Content copyright © 2013 by Taisha Turner. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Taisha Turner. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Launa Stout for details.

| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2016 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor