Printer Friendly Version

BellaOnline's Yoga Editor

8 Guidelines to Developing Intuition

Whether you are yoga practitioner or just want to become more intuitive and presently grounded, you may want to consider Patanjali's eight limbs of yoga.
You know that yoga is more than just a physical exercise and stretch, but did you realize it also helps develop your intuition?

About three years ago, I started to incorporate these eight guidelines of yoga into my life. I have found that they have helped me become more conscious, intuitive and present. Developing my intuition alone has greatly improved my life. Intuition is an inner understanding that directs you to what you ultimately need to experience on your life�s journey. These inner senses have offered me a guide for how to hear and know inspired thoughts and idea. Inspired ideas that have brought a great deal of wealth, success and abundance in all areas of my life.

More importantly, these eight guidelines have allowed me to experience a greater state of both presence and peace. I offer these eight limbs/guidelines as a tool to help you tune into your inner temple (body) in your journey called life.

The eight limbs are:
1 & 2) The ten ethical ways of being to oneself and others (Sanskrit: Yamas & Niyamas, respectively). These ten ways help you operate with love and peace towards yourself and other outside relationships or communities. They are like the Ten Commandments. They include Non-violence, truthfulness, non-stealing, moderation, non-possessiveness, purity, contentment, discipline, study, and surrender. Please note: These include how you treat others as well as yourself. So read them as non-violence to yourself and everyone else, truthfulness to yourself and everyone else, etc.

3) Yoga Practice (Asana) as you probably think about it... a series of postures to keep your body healthy and strong. Asana mat practice also offers opportunities to practice and explore yamas and niyamas such as letting go, patience and peace of mind.

4) Breathing practices (Pranayama), below you will find a success tool that demonstrates a pranayama practice.

5) Internal attention (Pratyahara) instead of external sensory. Start using your five senses internally. What do you see, hear, taste, feel and smell inside your body?

6) Focusing (Dharana) attention on one point. For example, having a vision and going for it.

7) Concentration/Meditation (Dhyana) and sustaining awareness of many points for extended periods of time.

8) Quieting the mind/ecstasy (Samadhi) so you can gain some inner perspective and clarity.

Yoga Site @ BellaOnline
View This Article in Regular Layout

Content copyright © 2013 by Jen Blackert. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Jen Blackert. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Korie Beth Brown for details.

| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2015 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor