CD review - Bad Company & Paul Rodgers

CD review - Bad Company & Paul Rodgers
In the wake of the formation of Cream, Bad Company was among the first of the super-groups. Free vocalist Paul Rodgers and drummer Simon Kirke joined with Mott the Hoople guitarist Mick Ralphs and King Crimson bassist Boz Burrell to form one of the most successful hard rock groups of all-time.

After a thriving solo career, Rodgers got back together with the guys (minus Burrell who died in 2006) for a series of shows in 2008 (which got extended until last year), one of which has been captured by Eagle Rock Entertainment for a tasty CD/DVD and Blu-Ray release entitled Live at Wembley”. And believe me when I say, if you’re a fan, you will be impressed by this collection. Joined by Rodgers’ sidemen (ex-Heart) Howard Leese and Lynn Sorensen, the band was firing on all cylinders. Unquestionably, Paul Rodgers is one of rock’s greatest vocalists with a voice that is as capable with a soulful ballad as a hard driving rocker and he sounds beyond excellent on this set.

While all the hits are present and obviously crowd favorites, it’s some of the deeper cuts that really rock. “Gone Gone Gone”, “Electric Land” and the encore “Deal With the Preacher” all crackle with an electricity that elevates them from their studio recordings. Particular moving is the more sedate “Seagull” where Rodgers effortlessly wrenches emotion from the notes.

The DVD offers some cool extras in the form of interviews with the three musicians and all of them seem particularly grateful to be able to continue to play this music, particularly Rodgers.

Track Listing:
1. Can't Get Enough
2. Honey Child
3. Run With The Pack
4. Burnin' Sky
5. Young Blood
6. Seagull
7. Gone, Gone, Gone
8. Electric Land
9. Simple Man
10. Feel Like Makin' Love
11. Shooting Star
12. Rock And Roll Fantasy
13. Movin' On
14. Ready For Love
15. Bad Company
16. Deal With The Preacher

Rodgers also sparkles on his solo disc, Live at Montreux. While there are several of his staples included, such as “All Right Now” and “Feel Like Making Love”, most of this set is all about the blues. He’s joined by a who’s who of rock royalty, namely Neal Schon, Brian May, Steve Lukather, and Jason Bonham, along with noted bluesmen Luther Allison, Eddie Kirkland, Sherman Robertson, Robert Lucas, and Kenny Neal.

Noteworthy are the songs “Good Morning Little School Girl” where May reminds you of his six-string abilities and also “Fire and Water” because of a very tasty Schon solo.

Track Listing
• 1. Travelling Man
• 2. Wishing Well
• 3. Louisiana Blues
• 4. Fire and Water
• 5. Muddy Water Blues
• 6. Good Morning Little School Girl
• 7. I'm Ready
• 8. Little Bit of Love
• 9. Mr. Big
• 10. Feel like Making Love
• 11. Let Me Love You Baby
• 12. The Hunter
• 13. Can't Get Enough (Of Your Love)
• 14. All Right Now
• 15. Crossroads
• 16. Hoochie Coochie Man

Great playing and outstanding vocals. In terms of classic rock and the blues, you can’t do much better than either of these two releases by Eagle Rock. Both are available on CD, DVD and Blu-Ray.

Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2019 by Morley Seaver. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Morley Seaver. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Morley Seaver for details.