National Holidays in the Middle East - January to June

National Holidays in the Middle East - January to June
The Gregorian Calendar is accepted as the civil calendar worldwide. In the Middle East, it is only one of several calendars used. Different holidays are calculated using different calendars and the date on the civil calendar may vary from year to year. This is particularly true for religious holidays. With the exception of Israel's Independence Day which usually celebrated based on the Jewish calendar, all national holidays in the Middle East are determined via the Gregorian Calendar and fall on the same date from year to year.

The following holidays occur in the first half of the year:

1Independence Day (Sudan - 1 January 1956)
11Revolution Day (Iran - 11 February 1979)
25National Day (Kuwait - 25 February 1950)
20Independence Day (Tunisia - 20 March 1956)
21Noruz (New Year's Day) (Iran)
23Republic Day (Pakistan - 23 March 1956)
1Republic Day (Iran - 1 April 1979)
17Independence Day (Syria - 17 April 1946)
14Independence Day (Israel - 14 May 1948)Usually celebrated on the corresponding date on the Jewish calendar
22Unification Day (Yemen - 22 May 1990)
25Independence Day (Jordan - 25 May 1946)
26Independence Day (Georgia - 26 May 1918)date of independence from Soviet Russia
28Founding of the Democratic Republic of Azerbaijan (Azerbaijan - 28 May 1918)
26Foundation of the Somali Republic (Somaliland - 26 June 1960)
27Independence Day (Djibouti - 27 June 1977)

National Holidays in the Middle East - July to December

This site needs an editor - click to learn more!

You Should Also Read:
The Hajj and Eid ul-Adha

Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2022 by Julie L Baumler. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Julie L Baumler. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact BellaOnline Administration for details.