King and Maxwell Book Review

King and Maxwell Book Review
””



Title: King and Maxwell
Author: David Baldacci
Published: 2013, Grand Central Publishing
No. of Pages: 526
Cover Price: $10.00 Paperback, $8.99 Kindle



Fans of Sean King and Michelle Maxwell will be delighted with David Baldacci’s sixth addition to the King and Maxwell series, King and Maxwell. The story begins when Sam Wingo is driving a truck somewhere in the Middle East, filled with top secret (and most assuredly illegal) cargo. He reaches his delivery destination and the cargo is stolen by a group of men, and Sam barely escapes. Meanwhile, at home, Michelle Maxwell and Sean King are driving in a huge rainstorm and find a teenage boy who obviously needs help. The boy is Tyler Wingo, and he has just been told by the military that his Dad has been killed in action. Tyler is devastated, but is smart enough to know that something isn’t right, since the military claims his body was blown up, then changes its story.

Sean and Michelle offer to take Tyler home, and during the conversation, Tyler decides that Michelle can be trusted. He later hires Sean and Michelle to sort out the inconsistencies of his father’s death.

During the course of this novel, there are times when Tyler is in grave danger; he has been warned that he isn’t to talk to King and Maxwell, and King and Maxwell have been warned that they aren’t to have any contact with Tyler. However, Michelle feels in her gut that she needs to intervene, and also that things are not as they appear. Tyler has a fairly new stepmother and they haven’t gotten along since she moved in. He doesn’t trust her, and she packs up and leaves the house shortly after Tyler’s father dies.

Baldacci has created another novel with great characters, good plot, and plenty of suspense and danger. The chemistry between Michelle and Sean is palpable; their bantering is a bit of comic relief during suspenseful situations. King and Maxwell may be the best in the series yet.

Baldacci fans will find this book enjoyable, and easy to read. As is Baldacci’s style, the book has no graphic violence, sex, or language, so it’s suitable for most readers. It is a fast read, and is highly recommended.

This book was purchased with personal funds and no promotion of the book was solicited by the author or publisher.

This book may be purchased at Amazon:
King and Maxwell, Paperback
King and Maxwell, Kindle




RSS
Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map





Content copyright © 2018 by Karen Hancock. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Karen Hancock. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Karen Hancock for details.