g Text Version
Beauty & Self
Books & Music
Food & Wine
Health & Fitness
Hobbies & Crafts
Home & Garden
News & Politics
Religion & Spirituality
Travel & Culture
TV & Movies

Bored? Games!
Take a Quiz
Rate My Photo

Home Improvement
Women's Fashion
Small Office/Home Office
Holiday/Seasonal Cooking
Crafts for Kids

All times in EST

Full Schedule
g Knitting Site

BellaOnline's Knitting Editor


Review of the Tom Bihn Swift Bag

Guest Author - Marjorie Colletta

I have been using this bag Tom Bihn Swift Bag for about two weeks and I am sold. I have been in search of the perfect bag for some time now and this bag is really close. When I shop for a knitting bag I look for a bag that stands up on its own. The bag also has to have pockets to sort out the knitting from non-knitting and canít have anything that will snag the work in progress (which eliminates any bag with velcro). Also, the bag has to allow access to the work in process (WIP) and will hold the WIP while I work on it (having the WIP fall out of the bag while I work on it is definitely not a good thing). Finally, the bag has to be roomy, but not too roomy, and I want to be able to carry or hang it on my shoulder.

According to the Tom Bihn website this bag was designed based on input from the readers and contributors at www.knitty.com. Having a knitter actually tell you what works in a bag is fabulous. Knitters, just like any other group, has distinct needs in their bags. First, let me describe the features, two clear zippered pockets, one large open space, two clips attached to the inside of the bag, two o-rings to clip things to (I use mine for my keys), two half pockets (perfect for holding a bottle of water), and a stuff sack with a clear plastic bottom (to better to see your project) and a grommet to thread your yarn through. Tom Bihn also offers other sacks that hold needles and accessories.

The large main pocket holds either one project or stuff sacks holding multiple projects. I have been using one of the clear pockets to hold what I normally store in a purse and the other pocket to hold knitting accessories. In the large pocket I have a sweater body, a stuff sack with the sleeves for the sweater, a stuff sack with an in-process sock, a stuff sack with an-in-process scarf, a book, and a bottle of water that is being held upright in one of the inside pockets. Attached to one of the clips is a smaller zippered pouch holding my cell phone. In other words, what Iím trying to say is that it holds everything I need when I walk out the door. Finally, it is comfortable with padded handles and depending on the color it is made of Cordura or Ballistic nylon (both fabrics clean when wiped off with a damp rag) and the bag stands up on its own. For those with a casual lifestyle and those who do not want to carry both a purse and a knitting bag this bag is perfect.
Add Review+of+the+Tom+Bihn+Swift+Bag to Twitter Add Review+of+the+Tom+Bihn+Swift+Bag to Facebook Add Review+of+the+Tom+Bihn+Swift+Bag to MySpace Add Review+of+the+Tom+Bihn+Swift+Bag to Del.icio.us Digg Review+of+the+Tom+Bihn+Swift+Bag Add Review+of+the+Tom+Bihn+Swift+Bag to Yahoo My Web Add Review+of+the+Tom+Bihn+Swift+Bag to Google Bookmarks Add Review+of+the+Tom+Bihn+Swift+Bag to Stumbleupon Add Review+of+the+Tom+Bihn+Swift+Bag to Reddit

What's in your knitting bag
Knitting in the summer
Best knitting gadgets
Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

For FREE email updates, subscribe to the Knitting Newsletter

Past Issues

Printer Friendly
tell friend
Tell a Friend
Email Editor

Content copyright © 2015 by Marjorie Colletta. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Marjorie Colletta. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Lisa Linnell-Olsen for details.


g features
Shell Lace Washcloth Pattern

Colorwork Knitting Book Review

How To Substitute Knitting Yarns

Archives | Site Map


Past Issues

Less than Monthly

BellaOnline on Facebook

| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2015 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor