Adult Square Knots- Information, Recognition and Quiz

Adult Square Knots- Information, Recognition and Quiz

Adult Square Knots- Information, Recognition and Quiz

Ever been to a Scout meeting or a roundtable or at summer camp and seen Scouters with rows of knots of various colors above their left shirt pocket? What about the "trained" strip or the white arrowhead on their sleeve? What do they mean? How do you earn them?

As adult leaders there is constant pressure to attend training classes- Youth Protection; new leader essential to Wood Badge; position specific training (Scoutmaster, Committee Chairman, District Committee, etc.). Once you completed these classes appropriate for he position you hold in Scouting, you can wear the "trained" strip on your sleeve.

The knots are a little more complicated. Two that you can see on either a Scout’s uniform or an adult’s uniform are a silver knot on a purple background and a red, white and blue knot. The former is the youth religious award knot. The red, white and blue knot is worn by Eagle Scouts.

The other knots represent recognition for service in many different areas. There are knots for service in each program- Cub Scouts, Boy Scouts and Venturing. If a leader receives the same award in more than one program, devices are added to the knot to show recognition for each award. There is also recognition for being on the District Committee and being a Commissioner.

Knots should be centered over the left pocket of the uniform shirt. Up to three knots can be placed in one row. A second row is needed for additional knots. The knots may look the same on both sides but there is a left and right side in wearing the knots. The knots should be displayed with the loop over the ends of the knot toward the wearer's right. Now that you know, you can check how many adults are "out of uniform."

Now that you know about knots, try the matching quiz below:

  • 1.
  • 2.
  • 3.
  • 4.
  • 5.
  • 6.
  • 7.
  • 8.
  • 9.
  • 10.

  1. A. Youth Religious Award
  2. B. Pack Trainer Award
  3. C. District Award of Merit
  4. D. Leader Training Award
  5. E. Arrow of Light
  6. F. Medal of Heroism
  7. G. Scouter Award Merit
  8. H. Cub Master Award
  9. I. Scouter’s Key
  10. J. Eagle Scout

Answers (mouseover to reveal): 1E, 2J, 3F, 4C, 5A, 6H, 7I, 8D, 9G, 10B

This site needs an editor - click to learn more!

Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2022 by Erik Moeller. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Erik Moeller. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact BellaOnline Administration for details.