Facts about the Holy Rosary

Facts about the Holy Rosary
October is the month of the Holy Rosary. Below are some facts and information about the Holy Rosary.

  • According to tradition, St. Dominic spread the devotion to the Holy Rosary in the thirtheenth century.

  • The Feast of the Blessed Virgin Mary of the Rosary is observed on October 7th.Buy at Art.com

  • Pope Piux XI dedicated the month of October to the Rosary in the twentieth century.

  • There are fifteen tradition Mysteries of the Rosary, grouped into three sets - the Joyful Mysteries (the Annunciation, the Visitation, the Nativity, the Presentation in the Temple, the Finding in the Temple); the Sorrowful Mysteries (the Agony in the Garden, the Scourging, the Crowning with Thorns, the Carrying of the Cross, the Cruxifixion); the Glorious Mysteries (the Resurrection, the Ascension, the Descent of the Holy Spirit, the Assumption of Mary into Heaven, the Coronation of Mary).

  • The Joyful Mysteries, the Sorrowful Mysteries, and the Glorious Mysteries were decided upon and finalized in the sixteenth century.

  • In 2002, Pope John Paul II introduced the Luminous Mysteries, also know as the Mysteries of Light.

  • The Luminous Mysteries are: the Baptism of Jesus, the Wedding of Cana, the proclamation of the Kingdom of God, the Transfiguration, the institution of the Eucharist.

  • A traditional Rosary has fifteen decades. A decade refers to the ten small beads that precede one large bead, and each decade is associated with one mystery of the Rosary.

  • Typically a five decade Rosary is said on a given occasion and usually different mysteries are reflected on based on the day of the week.

  • There are many benefits of praying the rosary, including: reminds us to pray and helps focus our prayers, is pleasing to God, teaches us through the various mysteries prayed, deepens our faith, brings about grace and spiritual growth.

  • Some other names for the Holy Rosary include: the Rosary, The Most Holy Rosary, the “Psalter of Mary,” the “prayer of the saints,” the Marian Rosary, “the beads,” and the “prayer weapon.”

  • The Rosary has a crucifix, 59 beads, and oftentimes a centerpiece.

  • The crucifix and the first five beads are known as the pendent of the Rosary.

  • Praying the Rosary beads from right to left or left to right is perfectly okay.

  • The word Rosary means “crown of roses.”

For more information about the Holy Rosary, click to read my previous article: Month of the Holy Rosary.

October is also Respect Life month.

The Rosary Handbook: A Guide for Newcomers, Old-Timers, and Those in Between -- Buy from Amazon

Peace in Christ,
© Melissa Knoblett-Aman

You Should Also Read:
Month of the Holy Rosary
Mary - Our Heavenly Mother

Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2023 by Melissa Knoblett-Aman. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Melissa Knoblett-Aman. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Melissa Knoblett-Aman for details.