Falling to Pieces Book Review

Falling to Pieces Book Review
I realize that the Amish theme has become very popular in Christian fiction. However, this is the first book of Amish fiction that I have read, possibly because, living in northern Indiana, Amish communities are common place. I often see the Amish buggies while driving on country roads. I chose this book because the story takes place in Shipshewana, Indiana, a quaint small town that is located a couple of hours from my home. My friends and I enjoy visiting there on market day. (Read about market day in the book.)

The story begins with a woman, Callie, arriving in Shipshewana with the intent of selling her deceased aunt’s house and quilt shop. She plans to return to her real home and life in Houston, Texas as quickly as possible. Callie feels out of place in this small town where many of the residents live without the technology and modern amenities she is used to. Within the budding friendship with an Amish woman named Deborah, Callie begins to learn about the simple life of the Amish community. The two become friends as they communicate as women, forgetting the differences in backgrounds. Callie settles into making the shop a success and therefore sellable while she unavoidably falls into step with life in Shipshewana.

That’s when things start to go wrong - beginning with an argument with a disagreeable newspaper man, the discovery of a murder and fighting false accusations. Callie soon realizes that life in this quaint community is not as simple as it seems. Callie and Deborah join forces to solve the mystery, piecing together the clues of the crime like the pieces of a quilt. Together they catch the killer while building the close bond of friendship.

Falling to Pieces is a pleasant mystery story on the order of Agatha Christie, but set in an Amish community. It blends the who-done-it plot line with the godly components of Amish life - God, community, simplicity and family. The mystery keeps the reader interested while not being overly distressful.

Falling to Pieces (A Shipshewana Amish Mystery)is the first of a three-book series from author Vanetta Chapman. Previously, she has published over one hundred articles in Christian family magazines, and received over two dozen awards from Romance Writers of America chapter groups. She published an Amish romance novel with Abingdon Press titled A Simple Amish Christmas.

Read more about "Falling to Pieces" on Vannetta Chapman's website.
I received an electronic copy of this book for review from NetGallery free of charge and was not paid for the review.

Find Falling to Pieces at Amazon.Falling to Pieces (A Shipshewana Amish Mystery)

You Should Also Read:
Reluctant Queen Book Review
Finding Grace, A Memoir Book Review
Cooking With Hot Flashes

Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2019 by Lynne Chapman. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Lynne Chapman. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Lynne Chapman for details.