Twenty-One Days Book Review

Twenty-One Days Book Review
””



Title: Twenty-one Days: A Daniel Pitt Novel
Author: Anne Perry
Published: April 10, 2018, Ballantine Books
No. of Pages: 320
Cover Price: $28.00 Hardcover, $14.99 Kindle



Anne Perry is the best-selling author of two historical mystery/thriller series; Twenty–one Days is the first in her new Daniel Pitt series. Fans of Perry’s Charlotte and Thomas Pitt will welcome this new series, since Daniel is their son, now grown, who is a lawyer. Daniel is new at a large legal firm, and because of circumstances beyond his control, finds himself helping to defend a very unsavory man in a murder case that seems unwinnable. Daniel and the senior lawyer he is assisting both think the man is guilty. But when Daniel uncovers some evidence that may point to unethical behavior in London’s Special Branch where his father is head, he knows that he must investigate to exonerate him. He also needs his father’s advice. Daniel has only twenty-one days to solve the case, and in this time period, it’s not easy to find evidence – there are no modern techniques or DNA to help.

As is her style, Perry tells the story with dozens of twists and turns. The characters are well-developed, and the main characters, especially Daniel, are likeable. Readers will want him to prove himself a good lawyer even though this case seems impossible. There is also the problem that he has had virtually no experience.

Perry is the queen of Victorian mystery novels; she has done enough research and is such a good storyteller, that readers will feel that they are living in England during the time period. There is building suspense – sans graphic violence – throughout.

Anyone who likes historical novels with surprise endings will want to start reading this first book in an excellent series. Although not necessary, those same readers will also want to read the earlier Charlotte and Thomas Pitt series. Twenty–one Days is an excellent novel and is hard to put down.

Special thanks to NetGalley for supplying a review copy of this book.





RSS
Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map





Content copyright © 2018 by Karen Hancock. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Karen Hancock. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Karen Hancock for details.