Articles about the poetry and mission of the poets laureate of the United States, and individual states that appoint them

Joyce Brinkman - Indiana Poet Laureate star
On May 6, 2005, Governor Mitch Daniels signed the legislation that created the post of Poet Laureate for Indiana. Before the official post was created, Indiana had an unofficial position for Poet Laureate, but it lacked a specific outline of the duties for the position

Maggi Vaughn - Poet Laureate of Tennessee star
Margaret Britton Vaughn is the poet laureate of Tennessee, a life time appointment.

Natasha Trethewey‘s star
In June 2012, Natasha Trethewey was appointed U. S. Poet Laureate by the Librarian of Congress, James Billington. She is serving her second term in that position. Her poem, “Incident,” provides an example of the poet’s style, form, and theme.

Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2018 by . All rights reserved.
This content was written by . If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Karena Andrusyshyn for details.