Printer Friendly Version

BellaOnline's Yoga Editor

Fourth Chakra Anahata – The Heart

This article is the next in the series “Chakra Primer”. The fourth Chakra, Anahata, is the heart. This green chakra is the center of love and compassion. Each chakra is very unique, for example here are some characteristics a chakra will have: an associated color; main physical and mental issues involved; what glands and body parts are affected by the chakra, astrological sign, senses and many more.

Here is a beginning study of the Heart Chakra

•Location: center of the chest just above the heart
•It is associated with your: lungs, heart, arms, hands, and thymus gland
•Color: Green
•Sense: Touch
•Element: Air
•The Heart Chakra is related to inner emotions of compassion, trust, and love
•Astrological signs: Aquarius, Gemini, and Libra
•Forms of healing: Aromatherapy such as rose and melissa and essential oils rose, jasmine, saffron, and tarragon. For a restless heart try your choice of one or a combination of oils and soak in a hot deep bath. Gemstones related to Anahata are rose quartz, jade, emerald, and peridot. Find one or more small gems to hold in your hand as you meditate or repeat affirmations. The Heart Chakras connection with green and its element air makes for a walk in the forest, hiking, lying in tall grass with your breath. All of nature thrives through the heart chakra.
•Yoga Poses: Fish Pose, Cobra Pose, and Camel Pose. These poses are known as heart openers.

Energy and Health of the Heart Chakra

•Anahata is considered the midpoint of the chakras. It is said to hold the sacred spark of the divine.
•The higher chakras cannot be reached without going through the Heart Chakra.
•A healthy Heart Chakra presents emotions such as: forgiveness, healthy breathing, and healthy immune system.
•When the Heart Chakra is blocked it may carry emotions of: resentment, anger, and guilt.
•Health issues related to a blocked Heart Chakra are: high blood pressure, breathing problems, chest pain, heart disorders, poor circulation

Here are some affirmations that may help you keep the Heart Chakra balanced, however is important that you believe in what you are saying.

I love and accept myself
•I believe love is abundant
• I am compassionate towards others
• I share my love with the world
• My heart is open and awaiting
• I am, I feel, I love

When meditating on the Heart Chakra here are some questions you may want to ask yourself:
•Do I allow enough time just for myself?
•What sadness or emotional sorrows do I carry in my heart?
•Can I offer true forgiveness to myself and others?
•Can I let go of trying to control everything?
•Trust your intuition. Placing your hands over your heart close your eyes and picture the bright green light of the Heart Chakra spreading out of you and into the world. Know that we are all connected.

Live well, practice yoga.

Click here to purchase my Award Winning EBOOK: Exercise Basics
Learn all you need to know to start a healthy and safe workout.

Click here to purchase my new
E-book: Gentle Exercises for Everyone

Yoga Site @ BellaOnline
View This Article in Regular Layout

Content copyright © 2013 by Terri Johansen. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Terri Johansen. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Korie Beth Brown for details.

| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2015 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor