logo
g Text Version
Beauty & Self
Books & Music
Career
Computers
Education
Family
Food & Wine
Health & Fitness
Hobbies & Crafts
Home & Garden
Money
News & Politics
Relationships
Religion & Spirituality
Sports
Travel & Culture
TV & Movies

dailyclick
Bored? Games!
Nutrition
Postcards
Take a Quiz
Rate My Photo

new
Action Movies
Bible Basics
Houseplants
Romance Movies
Creativity
Family Travel
Southwest USA


dailyclick
All times in EST

Low Carb: 8:00 PM

Full Schedule
g
g Vegetarian Site

BellaOnline's Vegetarian Editor

g

Alcohol Is Not Necessarily Vegetarian / Vegan

Guest Author - Tracy Webb

When deciding to become a vegetarian/vegan, one of the most surprising discoveries for me was that alcohol is not generally vegetarian. Every time I ask in a restaurant or bar if they have vegetarian/vegan wine, I receive looks of disbelief. It is not widely known that this is the case. As if thatís not enough, itís not just alcohol; some non-alcoholic juices are unsuitable for vegetarians too.

You are probably wondering how it can be that alcohol is not suitable for vegetarians, and you may be surprised to find out why. It can be quite a shock to someone who has been an avid vegetarian for many years to discover they have been consuming alcohol that contains animal products which is undermining their effort. Sorry if this you are one of those people!

Alcohol goes through a process of filtering, using finings. The finings are added to the alcohol near completion of the brewing phase. They act to make the alcohol clear, enhance the flavor and remove any impurities before being bottled. There are many different ingredients used including; gelatine, egg whites and shellfish.

Gelatine comes from the bones and connective tissues of cows or pigs, and is often used in sweets, cakes and biscuits. Isinglass is obtained from fish swim bladders, chitin is derived from the shells of crustaceans like crabs and lobsters. Casein is obtained from milk and albumin from egg whites which are both acceptable to vegetarians, while vegans would avoid them. Ox Blood was also used, although this is now banned in Europe due to BSE disease.

Wine or other alcohol that is labelled vegetarian is usually filtered using egg whites or casein which is a milk product found in cheese. Vegan wine is mostly filtered through bentonite or kaolin clay, silica gel or seaweed products.

Ciders and beers tend to be filtered using finings or animal origin so it is always best to check the label before indulging. Some ciders are suitable for vegetarians however; Iíve yet to find one that would be acceptable for vegans. Most spirits and liqueurs seem to be more widely available to vegetarians and vegans due to the finings being of non-animal origin.

I would recommend checking all labels before buying if you would prefer not to drink alcohol which has been filtered using animal derived products. It is always advisable to check red drinks for cochineal, which is from insects. If in doubt and there is no visible suitable for vegetarians listing on the product, I would give it a miss!
This site needs an editor - click to learn more!

Add Alcohol+Is+Not+Necessarily+Vegetarian+%2F+Vegan to Twitter Add Alcohol+Is+Not+Necessarily+Vegetarian+%2F+Vegan to Facebook Add Alcohol+Is+Not+Necessarily+Vegetarian+%2F+Vegan to MySpace Add Alcohol+Is+Not+Necessarily+Vegetarian+%2F+Vegan to Del.icio.us Digg Alcohol+Is+Not+Necessarily+Vegetarian+%2F+Vegan Add Alcohol+Is+Not+Necessarily+Vegetarian+%2F+Vegan to Yahoo My Web Add Alcohol+Is+Not+Necessarily+Vegetarian+%2F+Vegan to Google Bookmarks Add Alcohol+Is+Not+Necessarily+Vegetarian+%2F+Vegan to Stumbleupon Add Alcohol+Is+Not+Necessarily+Vegetarian+%2F+Vegan to Reddit




RSS | Related Articles | Editor's Picks Articles | Top Ten Articles | Previous Features | Site Map


For FREE email updates, subscribe to the Vegetarian Newsletter


Past Issues


print
Printer Friendly
bookmark
Bookmark
tell friend
Tell a Friend
forum
Forum
email
Email Editor


Content copyright © 2014 by Tracy Webb. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Tracy Webb. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact BellaOnline Administration for details.

g


g features
Vegetarian Categories - Types of Vegetarians

Potato And Spinach Soup Recipe

Adding Chlorella to Your Diet

Archives | Site Map

forum
Forum
email
Contact

Past Issues
memberscenter


vote
Poetry
Daily
Weekly
Monthly
Less than Monthly



BellaOnline on Facebook
g


| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2014 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.


BellaOnline Editor