Candlemaking Mystery Series - Book Review

Candlemaking Mystery Series - Book Review
Candle making can be intensive work. The repeated testing to get a candle to burn just right or to throw just the right amount of scent can be tedious and frustrating. Add that to every day stresses and everyone needs a break. I am an avid reader and love to relax with a good book. If my schedule is full, I like short, fun easy reads to drift off to sleep with. My most recent fun reads have been the Candle making Mystery series by Tim Myers. There are four books in this serious that are entertaining and a great way to relax.

At Wicks End is the first book in the series. We are introduced to the main character, Harrison Black, who inherits great aunt’s candle shop. Harrison has kind of floated through life unable to find that one thing to be passionate about. When his great aunt dies, he inherits her candle shop that is housed in a little “strip mall” which she also owned. In this book Harrison discovers that his great aunt was murdered and he helps solve the mystery of her death. It is enjoyable reading about Harrison learn about the candle making industry.

Snuffed Out is the second book in the series. Harrison is continuing to settle into the role of landlord and store owner. Although it is a busy life, he seems to of found that passion that he had been missing out on. One of the tenants is murdered by electrocution and once again Harrison helps uncover the murderer.

Death Waxed Over is book number three. Harrison is the prime suspect of the murder of a rival candle shop owner. The newspaper editor’s wife claims she witnessed Harrison commit the murder at a craft fair. He is slaughtered in the paper and struggles to keep his own business running.

A Flicker of Doubt is book number four and Harrison is shaken to the core when he finds his ex-girlfriend’s body in the river. Harrison struggles with his ability to kayak on the river ever again as he investigates the murder of his ex-girlfriend/friend.

Throughout all four books, we come to know and love each of the characters/store owners in the series. It is fun watching Harrison stay one step ahead of the wealthy hobbyist he is providing candle making lessons to. And without fail, Harrison always ends up in a dangerous predicament as he uncovers the true villain. These books are not Agatha Christie level mysteries, but they are short, light and entertaining. When you need the light pick me up to just escape for a little while, I highly recommend this little series of books. He also has a short series of soap making mysteries that are quiet good.

All books in this series were purchased with my personal funds. I have not been compensated in any form for this review.

This site needs an editor - click to learn more!

Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2023 by Shanda Lynn Markham. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Shanda Lynn Markham. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact BellaOnline Administration for details.