logo
g Text Version
Beauty & Self
Books & Music
Career
Computers
Education
Family
Food & Wine
Health & Fitness
Hobbies & Crafts
Home & Garden
Money
News & Politics
Relationships
Religion & Spirituality
Sports
Travel & Culture
TV & Movies

dailyclick
Bored? Games!
Nutrition
Postcards
Take a Quiz
Rate My Photo

new
European Travel
Action Movies
Bible Basics
Houseplants
Romance Movies
Creativity
Family Travel


dailyclick
All times in EST

Full Schedule
g
g Entertainment News Site

BellaOnline's Entertainment News Editor

g

Lauren Conrad enters literary world

Guest Author - Lorna London Sloukji

She's the sleek and beautiful blond from MTV's The Hills. She's Lauren Conrad and she has a few things to say: in a book. For fans of The Hills, Conrad's new novel will seem paralleled to the show, titled L.A. Candy (HarperCollins). This marks the first novel in a three-book series for teen readers.

In L.A. Candy, Conrad reveals the story of best friends, Jane, an event planning company intern and Scarlett, a university student. Both girls move to Los Angeles, as the story unfolds their ups and downs and how they handle fame.
"It's easiest to write things that you know about and that was the experience that I knew," said Conrad.

"I kind of took them and went through the process of what it's like to be cast on a reality show and all the things you go through."

Although there are many similarities between The Hills and L.A. Candy, Conrad asserts that there is not enough of a solid connection.

"As far as situations that are between friends and things like that, I mean, there's going to be similarities just because that's what I know, but I didn't take specific situations and write about them and just change names."

The book discloses instances where the fictional characters are getting off-screen nudging during on-screen dialogue and interaction.
How real is reality?

"You have to remember that there are certain things that are going to be unnatural about sitting around in a room with cameras around and that's going to distract you and take away from natural reactions," Conrad said. "They were there to kind of (say) 'Get back in there."'

Did that kind of coaching and nudging alter the reality of the situation?
"I think that they just kind of got them back into what they were doing," Conrad said. "The life you lead outside of the show distracts sometimes, and they're just constantly trying to get you to focus on being in the moment."
L.A. Candy strives to show two girls' perspectives on the show and fame, how their approaches differ and how they handle daily life.

Jane has a relatively easier time adjusting to her new life while Scarlett struggles. Conrad claims she held conflicting feelings regarding the show—sometimes she liked it and other times, she didn't.

"Sometimes I really didn't enjoy doing the show and I was really angry when I felt that they weren't being true to who I was, and there was other times that I loved it and it was the best thing that had ever happened to me, so I went back and forth with it," she said. "I think what I was doing with those two characters is I was almost splitting my two different feelings ... it was almost like the optimistic side of me and the cynical side of me."


Add Lauren+Conrad+enters+literary+world to Twitter Add Lauren+Conrad+enters+literary+world to Facebook Add Lauren+Conrad+enters+literary+world to MySpace Add Lauren+Conrad+enters+literary+world to Del.icio.us Digg Lauren+Conrad+enters+literary+world Add Lauren+Conrad+enters+literary+world to Yahoo My Web Add Lauren+Conrad+enters+literary+world to Google Bookmarks Add Lauren+Conrad+enters+literary+world to Stumbleupon Add Lauren+Conrad+enters+literary+world to Reddit




RSS | Related Articles | Editor's Picks Articles | Top Ten Articles | Previous Features | Site Map


For FREE email updates, subscribe to the Entertainment News Newsletter


Past Issues


print
Printer Friendly
bookmark
Bookmark
tell friend
Tell a Friend
forum
Forum
email
Email Editor


Content copyright © 2014 by Lorna London Sloukji. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Lorna London Sloukji. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Trina Boice for details.

g


g features
Guardians of the Galaxy garners new Marvel fans

The Fault in Our Stars Shines

Box office shows monster sales for Godzilla

Archives | Site Map

forum
Forum
email
Contact

Past Issues
memberscenter


vote
Poetry
Daily
Weekly
Monthly
Less than Monthly



BellaOnline on Facebook
g


| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2014 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.


BellaOnline Editor