Man Booker Prize for Fiction

Man Booker Prize for Fiction
Every year the judges of the Man Booker Prize have a difficult task of looking for a unique writer with a distinct voice and original imagination that will take readers on a memorable journey. This award was known as the Booker Prize since it's inaugural in 1969 before it changed sponsors in 2002.

The Man Booker Prize is one of the most esteemed awards for authors. It is awarded to the best original novel by a citizen of the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland in English. To be on the long or short list is also an honour bringing both international attention and increased book sales.

The winner will receive 50,000 pounds (approximately $98,464 U.S.) and a copy of their book specially bound. All short listed writers will receive 2,500 pounds and a copy of their book specially bound.

There is a long process before the final winner is chosen. In December of the previous year the judges are chosen by committee. In the following July a longlist is determined. From this list a shortlist is announced in September. And finally a winner is announced in mid-October. The longlist is around 18 - 20 novels/authors while the shortlist contains around 6 novels/authors.

Notable previous winners include Margaret Atwood (The Blind Assassin), Michael Ondaatje (The English Patient), Iris Murdoch (The Sea, the Sea), J. M. Coetzee (Disgrace), Yann Martel (Life of Pi) and Kiran Desai (The Inheritance of Loss). A complete winners list can be found in the Man Booker Reading List in the related links below.

A full history of the prize including previous winners, shortlisted authors and judges can be found on the official website. The site also features the rules of entry, background information and breaking news.

Learn more about the Man Booker Prize from the official website.

M. E. Wood lives in Eastern Ontario, Canada. If you are going to find this eclectic reader and writer anywhere it is probably at her computer. For more information visit her official website.

You Should Also Read:
Man Booker Prize Reading List
Literary Awards

Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2021 by M. E. Wood. All rights reserved.
This content was written by M. E. Wood. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Ije Yvonne for details.