g Text Version
Beauty & Self
Books & Music
Food & Wine
Health & Fitness
Hobbies & Crafts
Home & Garden
News & Politics
Religion & Spirituality
Travel & Culture
TV & Movies

Bored? Games!
Take a Quiz
Rate My Photo

Natural Living
Folklore and Mythology
Distance Learning

All times in EST

Full Schedule
g Anime Site

BellaOnline's Anime Editor


Dragon Ball Z Dragon Box Six

Guest Author - Lesley Aeschliman

When the Dragon Ball Z: Dragon Boxes were released in Japan, they only released two boxes that each contained roughly half the series. When FUNimation released the Dragon Boxes in North America, they broke the set up into seven boxes. Dragon Ball Z: Dragon Box Six was released by FUNimation on July 19, 2011, and it contains episodes 210 through 250 of the series. These episodes cover the World Tournament Saga, the Babidi Saga, and the Majin Buu Saga. However, it should be noted that in the booklet, the episodes have all been lumped together into the Majin Boo Saga.

The Dragon Boxes were being marketed to the "hardcore" Dragon Ball fans, which was evident through some of the decisions FUNimation made when putting these sets together. The default language for viewing is set to Japanese language with English subtitles, the title cards for the episodes use the Japanese titles for the episodes instead of the titles for the English dub, only the original Japanese music score is included, and the packaging and booklets use the original Japanese spelling for the characters' names instead of the alternate spellings from the English dub. Also, the episodes are presented in a 4:3 aspect ratio, instead of the 16:9 cropping that was done for the nine "orange brick" season sets.

Dragon Box Six comes with a 47-page hardcover book that has a right-to-left orientation. The book begins with character profiles, which is followed by an "Ultimate Character Relationship Chart." The bulk of the book, however, is a section talking about the episodes that are included in the set. The episode section of the book includes the Japanese titles for the episodes, a description for each episode, the original airdate for each episode, still images from the episodes, trivia, and a brief overview of the story that appears on each disc in the set. Mixed in with the episode descriptions are sections labeled as "One-Hit Wonder Grand Prix" (a listing of those opponents in the Majin Boo Saga who were defeated in one blow), "Two Great Races Saiyan," and "Two Great Races - Namekian." The book concludes with line art featuring some of the Dragon Ball Z characters.

A drawback to this set is the fact that there are no special features included on any of the discs; FUNimation didn't even bother to put on the textless opening and closing or any trailers. I would guess that the company felt that since the book was included, that there really wasn't a need for special features on the discs. Also, I was disappointed to see that the "Marathon Feature" from the "orange brick" season sets wasn't included, because it made it easier to watch the episodes back-to-back on each disc. On the plus side, if you watch the Japanese language versions of the episodes, you get to see the next episode previews at the end of each episode; these had not been included in the original "orange brick" season box sets that FUNimation had released.

I would recommend Dragon Ball Z: Dragon Box Six to fans of Dragon Ball Z who want to have a better version of the episodes than what appears on the "orange bricks."

I wrote this review after watching a copy of this DVD box set that my husband and I purchased.

Disc 1
Disc 2
Disc 3
The World Tournament
Trunks vs. Goten
Best of the Boys
Big Trouble, Little Trunks
Who Will Fight Who?
Forfeit Of Piccolo!
A Dark and Secret Power
Videl Is Crushed
Identities Revealed
Energy Drain
The Wizard's Curse
King of the Demons
Vegeta Attacks
Next Up, Goku
Battle Supreme
Eighteen Unmasks
Pay To Win
Heart of a Villain
The Dark Prince Returns
Vegeta's Pride
The Long Awaited Fight

Disc 4
Disc 5
Disc 6
Magical Ball of Buu
Buu Is Hatched!
The Losses Begin
The Terror of Majin Buu
Meal Time
The Warrior's Decision
Final Atonement
Evil Lives On
Find the Dragon Balls
Global Announcement
Learn To Fuse
The Z Sword
Race to Capsule Corp
Super Saiyan 3?!
Buu's Mutiny
The Fusion Dance
Goku's Time Is Up
Return to Other World
Out From the Broken Sword

This site needs an editor - click to learn more!

Add Dragon+Ball+Z+Dragon+Box+Six to Twitter Add Dragon+Ball+Z+Dragon+Box+Six to Facebook Add Dragon+Ball+Z+Dragon+Box+Six to MySpace Add Dragon+Ball+Z+Dragon+Box+Six to Digg Dragon+Ball+Z+Dragon+Box+Six Add Dragon+Ball+Z+Dragon+Box+Six to Yahoo My Web Add Dragon+Ball+Z+Dragon+Box+Six to Google Bookmarks Add Dragon+Ball+Z+Dragon+Box+Six to Stumbleupon Add Dragon+Ball+Z+Dragon+Box+Six to Reddit

Dragon Ball Z Dragon Box Three
Dragon Ball Z Dragon Box Four
Dragon Ball Z Dragon Box Five
Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

For FREE email updates, subscribe to the Anime Newsletter

Past Issues

Printer Friendly
tell friend
Tell a Friend
Email Editor

Content copyright © 2018 by Lesley Aeschliman. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Lesley Aeschliman. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact BellaOnline Administration for details.


g features
The Wallflower Episode Two Recap

Subscribe To The Anime Newsletter

The Wallflower Episode One Recap

Archives | Site Map


Past Issues

Note: BellaOnline uses cookies to help provide a consistent user experience. Our advertisers may use cookies to help customize ads. Please contact us with any question about our cookie use.

Summertime Foods
Corn on the Cob
Burgers on the Grill
Apple Pie


| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2018 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor