Kino's Journey Complete Collection

Kino's Journey Complete Collection
Kino's Journey Complete Collection is a three-disc set that includes all 13 episodes of the series. The set is packaged in a single-disc DVD box, but there is a flap inside that can hold two DVDs; the third DVD is on the back of the box, like in a normal single-disc DVD box. The first disc contains five episodes, while the remaining two discs each include four episodes.

Kino, the main character of the series, travels with a talking motorrad named Hermes. While they travel, they visit different countries and forests. Whenever Kino makes a stop on her journey, she will only stay in one location for three days and refuses to make an exception to this rule. To Kino, three days is long enough to learn the most important things about a place, but not so long that she will become attached and want to settle down.

During her travels, Kino visits places where the people are oppressed in some way, a tragedy of some kind has occurred, or the culture has become strange due to the people living there. A couple of themes that run throughout the series are whether or not the use of violence is justified and the inherent problems associated with communication.

Kino's Journey is a very interesting series, and it seems to rely a bit on allegory. While it's a good series, it's not something you can just sit and casually watch. Kino's Journey is a series you find yourself thinking about as you watch it, whether you do it consciously or subconsciously. There were two particular episodes that really stood out to me: one about books and being able to distinguish between fantasy and reality and one about how two countries decided to avoid having war between each other.

Unfortunately, Kino's Journey Complete Collection is a rather "bare-bones" DVD release. There are no bonus features of any kind included on the discs, and there is no booklet included with the DVD. Normally, I prefer having some kind of bonus features included on my anime DVDs, but perhaps Kino's Journey is the type of series that can speak for itself and doesn't necessarily need bonus features included on a release to help enhance it.

If you enjoy Kino's Journey and haven't added the series to your home video collection yet, then I would recommend purchasing Kino's Journey Complete Collection.

I wrote this review after watching a copy of this DVD box set that my husband purchased for me as a gift.

Disc 1
Disc 2
Disc 3
Land of Visible Pain -I See You-
A Tale of Feeding Off Others -I Want to Live-
Land of Prophecies -We No the Future-
Land of Adults -Natural Right-
Three Men Along the Rails -On the Rails-
Coliseum (Part 1) -Avengers-
Coliseum (Part 2) -Avengers-
Land of Wizards -Potentials of Magic-
Land of Books -Nothing Is Written!-

A Tale of Mechanical Dolls -One-way Mission-
Her Journey -Love and Bullets-
A Peaceful Land -Mother's Love-
A Kind Land -Tomorrow Never Comes-

This site needs an editor - click to learn more!

You Should Also Read:
Kino's Journey

Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2023 by Lesley Aeschliman. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Lesley Aeschliman. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact BellaOnline Administration for details.