g Text Version
Beauty & Self
Books & Music
Food & Wine
Health & Fitness
Hobbies & Crafts
Home & Garden
News & Politics
Religion & Spirituality
Travel & Culture
TV & Movies

Bored? Games!
Take a Quiz
Rate My Photo

Women's Fashion
Small Office/Home Office
Holiday/Seasonal Cooking
Crafts for Kids

All times in EST

Clairvoyance: 08:00 PM

Full Schedule
g Today in History Site

BellaOnline's Today in History Editor


WrestleMania Dates

Guest Author - Tammy Cordani

WrestleMania is wrestling’s biggest event. We take a look at the dates each show, where they occurred and the main event.

March 31, 1985 - WrestleMania took place at Madison Square Garden in New York City, New York. Hulk Hogan and Mr. T defeated Roddy Piper and Paul Orndorff.

April 7, 1986 - WrestleMania II took place in three separate venues across the country. At the Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum in Uniondale, New York, Mr. T defeated Roddy Piper in a boxing match. In Chicago, Illinois at the Rosemont Horizon, the British Bulldogs (Davey Boy Smith and the Dynamite Kid) defeated the Dream Team (Brutus Beefcake and Greg Valentine). At the Los Angeles Memorial Sports Arena in Los Angeles, California, Hulk Hogan defeated King Kong Bundy in a steel cage match which saw Hogan retain his title.

March 29, 1987 - WrestleMania III took place at the Pontiac Silverdome in Pontiac, Michigan. The main event saw Hulk Hogan defeated Andre the Giant in a title match.

March 27, 1988 - WrestleMania IV took place at Trump Plaza in Atlantic City, New Jersey. “Macho Man” Randy Savage defeated Ted DiBiase for the championship.

April 2, 1989 - WrestleMania V also took place at Trump Plaza in Atlantic City, New Jersey. Hulk Hogan defeated Randy Savage for the championship title.

April 1, 1990 - WrestleMania VI took place at the SkyDome in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. The Ultimate Warrior defeated Hulk Hogan for the world title.

March 24, 1991 - WrestleMania VII took place at the Los Angeles Memorial Sports Arena in Los Angeles, California. Hulk Hogan won the world title when he defeated Sergeant Slaughter in the main event.

April 5, 1992 - WrestleMania VIII took place at the Hoosier Dome in Indianapolis, Indiana. Hulk Hogan defeated Sid Justice via DQ in the main event.

April 4, 1993 - WrestleMania IX took place at Caesar’s Palace in Las Vegas, Nevada. Yokozuna defeated Bret Hart to win the world title. Seconds later he lost the belt to Hulk Hogan.

March 20, 1994 - WrestleMania X took place at Madison Square Garden in New York City, New York. Yokozuna defeated Lex Luger to retain the world title. In the second championship bout, he would lose the title to Bret Hart.

April 2, 1995 - WrestleMania XI took place at the Hartford Civic Center in Hartford, Connecticut. Diesel defeated Shawn Michaels to remain world champion. In the other main event, Lawrence Taylor defeated Bam Bam Bigelow.

March 31, 1996 - WrestleMania XII took place at Arrowhead Pond in Anaheim, California. In an Iron Man Match, Shawn Michaels defeated Bret Hart to win the championship.

March 23, 1997 - WrestleMania XIII took place at the Rosemont Horizon in Chicago, Illinois. The Undertaker defeated Sid Justice to win the championship belt.

March 29, 1998 - WrestleMania XIV took place at the Fleet Center in Boston, Massachusetts. Steve Austin defeated Shawn Michaels to win the title.

March 28, 1999 - WrestleMania XV took place at the First Union Center in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Steve Austin defeated the Rock to win the title.

April 2, 2000 - WrestleMania XVI took place at Arrowhead Pond in Anaheim, California. In a Fatal Four elimination match, Big Show and Mick Foley were defeated by the Rock and Triple H, respectively. Triple H then defeated the Rock for the title.

April 1, 2001 - WrestleMania XVII took place at the Reliant Astrodome in Houston, Texas. Steve Austin defeated the Rock to regain the title.

March 17, 2002 - WrestleMania XVIII took place at the SkyDome in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Triple H defeated Chris Jericho to regain the championship.

March 30, 2003 - WrestleMania XIX took place at Safeco Field in Seattle, Washington. Brock Lesnar defeated Kurt Angle to win the championship title.

March 14, 2004 - WrestleMania XX took place at Madison Square Garden in New York City, New York. In a Triple Threat match featuring Chris Benoit, Shawn Michaels and Triple H, Benoit won the world title by defeating Triple H.

April 3, 2005 - WrestleMania XXI took place at the Staples Center in Los Angeles, California. Batista defeated Triple H to win the world title.

April 2, 2006 - WrestleMania XXII took place at the Allstate Arena in Chicago, Illinois. John Cena defeated Triple H to win the championship.

April 1, 2007 - WrestleMania XXIII took place at Ford Field in Detroit, Michigan. Undertaker defeated Batista to win the world championship, John Cena defeated Shawn Michaels for the title.

Don’t forget about the Today In History Newsletter!

Add WrestleMania+Dates to Twitter Add WrestleMania+Dates to Facebook Add WrestleMania+Dates to MySpace Add WrestleMania+Dates to Del.icio.us Digg WrestleMania+Dates Add WrestleMania+Dates to Yahoo My Web Add WrestleMania+Dates to Google Bookmarks Add WrestleMania+Dates to Stumbleupon Add WrestleMania+Dates to Reddit

RSS | Related Articles | Editor's Picks Articles | Top Ten Articles | Previous Features | Site Map

For FREE email updates, subscribe to the Today in History Newsletter

Past Issues

Printer Friendly
tell friend
Tell a Friend
Email Editor

Content copyright © 2015 by Tammy Cordani. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Tammy Cordani. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Lane Graciano for details.


g features
May the 4th is the Start of Star Wars Days

16 Things We Love about Shakespeare

The Samuel Applegate Alarm Clock

Archives | Site Map


Past Issues

Less than Monthly

BellaOnline on Facebook

| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2015 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor