Guest Author - Vance R. Rowe
If you plan on visiting Cajun country, you had better read this article first. Louisiana has some strange laws that you may need to pay attention to; especially at Mardi Gras. If you live in Louisiana, you had better take heed as well. I am willing to bet some of the laws I list, you may not have known about.
These laws are still on the books in Louisiana:
Don't make false promises in Louisiana. Making a false promise to someone could land you in jail for up to a year. Don't steal an alligator either because that carries a penalty of up to ten years in jail.
Urinating in the public water system carries penalties of up to 20 years in jail. If someone does this, they deserve every bit of the 20 years in jail, in my humble opinion.
LISTEN UP, WWE! Fake wrestling matches are prohibited in Louisiana and if you are a boxing spectator and you want to mock one of the boxers, don't do it. You have been warned.
If you plan on robbing a bank in Louisiana, better use a real gun because it is illegal for one to rob a bank and then shoot at the teller with a water pistol.
In Jefferson Parish, it is illegal for you to feed your hogs raw garbage. That's right. All garbage must be cooked before giving it to your hogs.
It is also illegal for you to dump a drink on the ground at a drive-in movie theater, in Jefferson Parish.
In Port Allen, it is illegal for someone to predict another person's future.
If you think these laws are tough, stay out of Sulphur, because in Sulpher, it is illegal for someone to “have relations” with a cow.
It is illegal to be an alcoholic in Sulphur and drive-thru liquor stores are outlawed.
Also, saying obscene things on the telephone is illegal.
Here are some Mardi Gras laws and other laws in New Orleans.
Beads may not be thrown down to the street from a three story window. Condoms may not be thrown from floats and neither are bottles of Coke. Television reporters are forbidden from throwing candy to the crowd.
If you are out walking your alligator, it is illegal for you to tie it to a fire hydrant.
I've come to the end of the list so I have saved the best law for last.
In New Orleans, it is illegal for a woman to drive a car unless a man is in front of it, waving a red flag.