The Chronicles of Narnia

The Chronicles of Narnia
Irish born, British raised author C. S. Lewis is best known for this well-loved children's literary classic with its beautiful landscapes, talking animals, magical themes, child heroes and the constant battle between good and evil. The Chronicles of Narnia is made up of seven novellas which were originally published in the early 1950s as separate complete books.

The first book published was The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe followed by The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, The Silver Chair, The Horse and His Boy, The Magician's Nephew and The Last Battle. Today they are encouraged by publishers to read in a different order (see below).

All the stories are conversational from a "storyteller" perspective with a flip-flop omnipresent point-of-view. C. S. Lewis is careful to make them suitable for children by approaching death and war without the gore an adult would witness. I certainly enjoyed revisiting these stories as an adult with the perspectives I now carry. I hope you do too.

The Chronicles of Narnia consists of:

The Magician's Nephew
The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe
The Horse and His Boy
Prince Caspian
The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
The Silver Chair
The Last Battle

M. E. Wood lives in Eastern Ontario, Canada. If you are going to find this eclectic reader and writer anywhere it will probably be in front of her computer. For more information visit her official website.

You Should Also Read:
Prince Caspian Quiz
The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe Quiz
A Horse and His Boy Quiz

Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2023 by M. E. Wood. All rights reserved.
This content was written by M. E. Wood. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Yvonne Ije for details.