A Vision of Lucy

A Vision of Lucy
The Wild West….open, untamed, exciting. Women worked hard on ranches as they helped to build the new territory. There is a group of women who fancy romances that are set in the untamed land of Indians and outlaws. If you are part of that group, you will love this week’s offering.

A Vision of Lucy (A Rocky Creek Romance), book three in the series by Margaret Brownley, is set in Texas in the years following the end of the Civil and Indian Wars. Prejudice exists toward Indians and half breeds, children of Anglo-Indian unions. The vote had not yet been extended to women most of whom were expected to remain home to perform domestic duties. Brownley’s Lucy; however, is a high spirited young woman who wants more from life. Lucy has decided to become a photojournalist. Her pursuit of this dream leads her into trouble, mischief and love.

As the plot unravels, Lucy begins to doubt who she can and cannot trust. Secrets from the past surface and threaten to tear a part her family and those of some close friends. Will love be enough to bind them together? Can she ever forgive?

A Vision of Lucy (A Rocky Creek Romance) explores themes of trust, acceptance, forgiveness, bitterness, hatred and love. At times cliche, and others predictable, the book made for an enjoyable, light read. The character of Lucy was well developed.

Included at the end of the book, is an informational chapter that gives information about the suffragette movement, and the historical context of the 1800s.

This book is available from online retailers such as www.amazon.com.

Disclaimer: This book was provided by the author’s publicist in exchange for an impartial review. Compensation was not exchanged.

Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2023 by Lyn Sedmina. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Lyn Sedmina. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Lyn Sedmina for details.