g Text Version
Beauty & Self
Books & Music
Food & Wine
Health & Fitness
Hobbies & Crafts
Home & Garden
News & Politics
Religion & Spirituality
Travel & Culture
TV & Movies

Bored? Games!
Take a Quiz
Rate My Photo

Natural Living
Folklore and Mythology
Distance Learning

All times in EST

Full Schedule
g Today in History Site

BellaOnline's Today in History Editor


Chief Justices of the U.S. Supreme Court

Guest Author - Tammy Cordani

The position of Chief Justice on the United States Supreme Court is probably one of the most sought after jobs in government. However, very few people have attained this position. We take a look at each Chief Justice, the dates they served and which President appointed them to the top job.

John Jay the first U.S. Supreme Court Chief Justice was appointed by George Washington and served for over five years from October 19, 1789 to June 29, 1795.

John Rutledge was appointed by George Washington and served four months from August 12, 1795 to December 15, 1795.

Oliver Ellsworth was appointed by George Washington and served for over four years from March 8, 1796 to December 15, 1800.

John Marshall was appointed by John Adams and served for over thirty-four years from February 4, 1801 to July 6, 1835.

Roger Taney was appointed by Andrew Jackson and served for over twenty-eight years from March 28, 1836 to October 12, 1864.

Salmon Chase was appointed by Abraham Lincoln and served for over eight years from December 15, 1864 to May 7, 1873.

Morrison Waite was appointed by Ulysses S. Grant and served for fourteen years from March 4, 1874 to March 23, 1888.

Melville Fuller was appointed by Grover Cleveland and served for over twenty-one years from October 8, 1888 to July 4, 1910.

Edward White was appointed by William H. Taft and served for over ten years from December 19, 1910 to May 19, 1921.

William Howard Taft the only former President to serve on the Supreme Court was appointed by Warren G. Harding. He served as Chief Justice for over eight years from July 11, 1921 to February 3, 1930.

Charles Evans Hughes was appointed by Herbert Hoover and served for over eleven years from February 24, 1930 to June 30, 1941.

Harlan Stone was appointed by Franklin D. Roosevelt and served over four years from July 3, 1941 to April 22, 1946.

Fred Vinson was appointed by Harry S. Truman and served for over seven years from June 24, 1946 to September 8, 1953.

Earl Warren was appointed by Dwight D. Eisenhower and served for over fifteen years from October 5, 1953 to June 23, 1969.

Warren Burger was appointed by Richard M. Nixon and served for over seventeen years from June 23, 1969 to September 26, 1986.

William H. Rehnquist was appointed by Ronald Reagan and served nineteen years from September 26, 1986 to September 3, 2005.

John Roberts Jr. was appointed by George W. Bush and has served since September 29, 2005.

Donít forget about the Today In History Newsletter!

Add Chief+Justices+of+the+U%2ES%2E+Supreme+Court to Twitter Add Chief+Justices+of+the+U%2ES%2E+Supreme+Court to Facebook Add Chief+Justices+of+the+U%2ES%2E+Supreme+Court to MySpace Add Chief+Justices+of+the+U%2ES%2E+Supreme+Court to Digg Chief+Justices+of+the+U%2ES%2E+Supreme+Court Add Chief+Justices+of+the+U%2ES%2E+Supreme+Court to Yahoo My Web Add Chief+Justices+of+the+U%2ES%2E+Supreme+Court to Google Bookmarks Add Chief+Justices+of+the+U%2ES%2E+Supreme+Court to Stumbleupon Add Chief+Justices+of+the+U%2ES%2E+Supreme+Court to Reddit

RSS | Related Articles | Editor's Picks Articles | Top Ten Articles | Previous Features | Site Map

For FREE email updates, subscribe to the Today in History Newsletter

Past Issues

Printer Friendly
tell friend
Tell a Friend
Email Editor

Content copyright © 2018 by Tammy Cordani. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Tammy Cordani. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Lane Graciano for details.


g features
May the 4th is the Start of Star Wars Days

16 Things We Love about Shakespeare

The Samuel Applegate Alarm Clock

Archives | Site Map


Past Issues

Note: BellaOnline uses cookies to help provide a consistent user experience. Our advertisers may use cookies to help customize ads. Please contact us with any question about our cookie use.

Summertime Foods
Corn on the Cob
Burgers on the Grill
Apple Pie


| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2018 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor