PEN/Faulkner Award Reading List

PEN/Faulkner Award Reading List
If you have not spent much time following book awards then you are missing out on an excellent source of reading material. Book awards help separate the best from the good and are an excellent source for great reading lists.

Here is a listing of books from The Pen/Faulkner Award beginning in 1981 to present. Follow along in order or pick and choose as it pleases. Happy reading!

1981 - How German Is It? (Walter Abish)
1982 - The Chaneysville Incident (David Bradley)
1983 - Seaview (Toby Olson)
1984 - Sent for You Yesterday (John Edgar Wideman)
1985 - The Barracks Thief (Tobias Wolff)
1986 - The Old Forest (Peter Taylor)
1987 - Soldiers in Hiding (Richard Wiley)
1988 - World's End (T. Coraghessan Boyle)
1989 - Dusk (James Salter)
1990 - Billy Bathgate (E. L. Doctorow)
1991 - Philadelphia Fire (John Edgar Wideman)
1992 - Mao II (Don Delillo)
1993 - Postcards (Annie Proulx)
1994 - Operation Shylock (Philip Roth)
1995 - Snow Falling on Cedars (David Guterson)
1996 - Independence Day (Richard Ford)
1997 - Women in Their Beds (Gina Berriault)
1998 - The Bear Comes Home (Rafi Zabor)
1999 - The Hours (Michael Cunningham)
2000 - Waiting (Ha Jin)
2001 - The Human Stain (Philip Roth)
2002 - Bel Canto (Ann Patchett)
2003 - The Caprices (Sabina Murray)
2004 - The Early Stories (John Updike)
2005 - War Trash (Ha Jin)
2006 - The March (E.L. Doctorow)
2007 - Everyman (Philip Roth)
2008 - The Great Man (Kate Christensen)
2009 - Netherland (Joseph O’Neill)

Learn more about the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction.

You can search for these or any other books at your local library or through Amazon's handy search box below.

M. E. Wood lives in Eastern Ontario, Canada. If you are going to find this eclectic reader and writer anywhere it is probably at her computer. For more information visit her official website.

You Should Also Read:
National Book Award Reading List
Literary Fiction Polls

Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2022 by M. E. Wood. All rights reserved.
This content was written by M. E. Wood. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Yvonne Ije for details.