logo
g Text Version
Beauty & Self
Books & Music
Career
Computers
Education
Family
Food & Wine
Health & Fitness
Hobbies & Crafts
Home & Garden
Money
News & Politics
Relationships
Religion & Spirituality
Sports
Travel & Culture
TV & Movies

dailyclick
Bored? Games!
Nutrition
Postcards
Take a Quiz
Rate My Photo

new
Bible Basics
Houseplants
Romance Movies
Creativity
Family Travel
Southwest USA
Irish Culture


dailyclick
All times in EST

Full Schedule
g
g Beer and Brewing Site

BellaOnline's Beer and Brewing Editor

g

Prohibited Grains in Brewing Gluten Free Beer


In the public media, Celiac Disease barely receives mention. The Celiac Sprue Association and National Foundation for Celiac Awareness work hard to disseminate information to the general public, but their work has just begun. Occasional articles, published in the New York Times or the Oakland Tribune, touch upon the subject, and Gluten Free Beer enjoys more press since the national release of Redbridge by Anheuser-Busch in December, 2006. Few columns, however, delve into the details of unacceptable grains. Barley and wheat (and sometimes rye) are most commonly mentioned, but confusion exists among beerwriters, brewers, beer distributors, and physicians concerning grains that are closely aligned, making them unacceptable for brewing Gluten Free Beer.

On my first trip to London, England, I was intrigued by the ingredients of a Panini sandwich that caught my eye in a local, organic corner deli. Labeled as Rocket and Cheese, I chose this item, delighting in the mystery ingredient: rocket. Upon further research, I learned that rocket was known by different names in different countries: arugula, roquette, rugula and rucola. Thus began my education about the importance of expanding my vocabulary for cross-cultural ingredients used in cooking and brewing.

Spelt, a wheat species, leads the pack as the most commonly misunderstood grain for brewing Gluten Free Beer. Brewers often mistake it as a safe grain, as do beerwriters and distributors. Other names for Spelt include Dinkel, Spelz, Épeautre, and Alac. Spelt may sometimes be called Farro, although Emmer Wheat also goes by the name of Farro.

UNACCEPTABLE GRAINS AND ADJUNCTS FOR BREWING GLUTEN FREE BEER:

BARLEY - Harmful gluten-rich prolamin: hordein.

BULGUR - Sourced from several species of wheat, but most often from durum wheat –
Harmful gluten-rich prolamin: gliadin

COUSCOUS - Made from semolina, usually wheat
Harmful gluten-rich prolamin: gliadin

DURUM WHEAT – also called Macaroni Wheat, Amber Durum and Red Durum
Harmful gluten-rich prolamin: gliadin

EINHORN WHEAT - Harmful gluten-rich prolamin: gliadin

EMMER – a species of wheat, also known as Farro
Harmful gluten-rich prolamin: gliadin

FARINA – A blend, most often made from wheat grain, nuts and starchy roots
Harmful gluten-rich prolamin: gliadin

FARRO – May be Emmer Wheat or Spelt
Harmful gluten-rich prolamin: gliadin

GRAHAM FLOUR - Made from wheat, and consists of the bran and germ, separated from the wheat kernel and coarsely ground; then re-combined with the more finely ground wheat kernel
Harmful gluten-rich prolamin: gliadin

KAMUT - A protected variety of wheat, also known as QK-77, a form of the Khorsan wheat or Durum Wheat
Harmful gluten-rich prolamin: gliadin

OATS – Most studies indicate that oats are a safe grain; however, medical professionals advise avoidance of oats due to the high level of cross-contamination with wheat and barley.
Safe gluten prolamin: avenin
Cross contamination with barley or wheat may render it harmful. May contain -
Harmful, gluten-rich prolamins: hordein or gliadin

RYE – Harmful gluten-rich prolamin: secalin

SEMOLINA – Grain product, usually wheat, which has been coarsely ground
Harmful gluten-rich prolamin: gliadin

SPELT – A wheat species, also known as Dinkel, Spelz, Épeautre, and Alac.
Harmful gluten-rich prolamin: gliadin

TRITICALE - Hybrid of rye and wheat
Harmful gluten-rich prolamin: secalin and gliadin

WHEAT - Harmful gluten-rich prolamin: gliadin

“WHEAT FREE” DOES NOT NECESSARILY MEAN “GLUTEN FREE.”

Be suspicious of any ingredient that bears the words “flavoring or natural flavoring.” If chocolate is used as an adjunct, check the label for “malt,” a clear warning that it contains barley.

Hydrolized protein may contain wheat.
Nuts or dried fruits may come into contact with wheat during processing.  Only use these if they are clearly marked as Gluten Free.

Cheers! 

Add Prohibited+Grains+in+Brewing+Gluten+Free+Beer+ to Twitter Add Prohibited+Grains+in+Brewing+Gluten+Free+Beer+ to Facebook Add Prohibited+Grains+in+Brewing+Gluten+Free+Beer+ to MySpace Add Prohibited+Grains+in+Brewing+Gluten+Free+Beer+ to Del.icio.us Digg Prohibited+Grains+in+Brewing+Gluten+Free+Beer+ Add Prohibited+Grains+in+Brewing+Gluten+Free+Beer+ to Yahoo My Web Add Prohibited+Grains+in+Brewing+Gluten+Free+Beer+ to Google Bookmarks Add Prohibited+Grains+in+Brewing+Gluten+Free+Beer+ to Stumbleupon Add Prohibited+Grains+in+Brewing+Gluten+Free+Beer+ to Reddit




Common Grains and Nuts for Brewing Gluten-Free Beer
Guide to Tasting Gluten Free Beer
Sorghum Beer Across Cultures
RSS
Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map


For FREE email updates, subscribe to the Beer and Brewing Newsletter


Past Issues


print
Printer Friendly
bookmark
Bookmark
tell friend
Tell a Friend
forum
Forum
email
Email Editor


Content copyright © 2014 by Carolyn Smagalski. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Carolyn Smagalski. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Carolyn Smagalski for details.

g


g features
The Big Easy

Great Beers of the British Isles

Jess Streeter - The Making of a Beer Geek

Archives | Site Map

forum
Forum
email
Contact

Past Issues
memberscenter


vote
Poetry
Daily
Weekly
Monthly
Less than Monthly



BellaOnline on Facebook
g


| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2014 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.


BellaOnline Editor