African Country Independence Dates

African Country Independence Dates
With the exception of two countries (Ethiopia and Liberia), all African countries have been colonized at some point. Here is a list of their independence dates and from which country they became independent from. Some countries have two independence dates since they were either two smaller countries that were unified, had two colonizers or occupiers at one time, or, in the case of South Africa, different groups of people became independent at different times.

CountryIndependence DateIndependence From
AlgeriaJuly 5, 1962France
AngolaNovember 11, 1975Portugal
BeninAugust 1, 1960France
BotswanaSeptember 30, 1966United Kingdom
Burkina FasoAugust 5, 1960France
BurundiJuly 1, 1962Belgium
CameroonJanuary 1, 1960
October 1, 1961
France (French Cameroon, Northern Cameroon)
United Kingdom (British Cameroons, Southern Cameroon
Cape VerdeJuly 5, 1975Portugal
Central African RepublicAugust 13, 1960France
ChadAugust 11, 1960France
ComorosJuly 6, 1975France
Congo (Brazzaville)August 15, 1960France
Congo (DRC) (Formerly Zaire)May 30, 1960Belgium
DjiboutiMay 27, 1977France
EgyptFebruary 28, 1922United Kingdom
Equatorial GuineaOctober 12, 1968Spain
EritreaMay 24, 1993Ethiopia
Ethiopia---Always Independent
GabonAugust 17, 1960France
GambiaFebruary 18, 1965United Kingdom
GhanaMarch 6, 1957United Kingdom
GuineaOctober 2, 1958France
Guinea-BissauSeptember 10, 1974Portugal
Ivory CoastAugust 7, 1960France
KenyaDecember 12, 1963United Kingdom
LesothoOctober 4, 1966United Kingdom
LiberiaJuly 26, 1847Never occupied. The declaration of independence was to formally sever Liberia from the American Colonization Society which helped African-Americans emigrate to Africa in the 1800s.
LibyaJanuary 2, 1969United Kingdom and France under United Nations Trusteeship
MadagascarJune 26, 1960France
MalawiJuly 6, 1964United Kingdom
MaliJune 20, 1960France
MauritaniaNovember 28, 1960France
MauritiusMarch 12, 1968United Kingdom
Mayotte---Territory of France
MoroccoMarch 2, 1956
April 7, 1956
MozambiqueMay 25, 1975Portugal
NamibiaMarch 21, 1990South Africa
NigerAugust 3, 1960France
NigeriaOctober 1, 1960United Kingdom
Reunion---Part of France
RwandaJuly 1, 1962Belgium
São Tomé and PríncipeJuly 12, 1975Portugal
SenegalMay 20, 1960France
SeychellesMay 29, 1976United Kingdom
Sierra LeoneApril 27, 1961United Kingdom
SomaliaJune 26, 1960
July 1, 1960
United Kingdom (British Somaliland)
Italy (Italian Somaliland)
SomalilandMay 18, 1991
Not An Internationally Recognized Country
South AfricaMay 31, 1961 - White Africans
May 31, 1994 - Black Africans
United Kingdom (1961)

Aparteid (1994)
South SudanJuly 9, 2011Sudan
SudanJanuary 1, 1956Egypt and United Kingdom
SwazilandSeptember 6, 1968United Kingdom
TanzaniaDecember 10, 1963United Kingdom
TogoApril 27, 1960France
TunisiaMarch 20, 1956France
UgandaOctober 9, 1962United Kingdom
Western SaharaNot Independent. Controlled by Morocco---
ZambiaOctober 24, 1964United Kingdom
ZimbabweMay 18, 1980United Kingdom

This site needs an editor - click to learn more!

You Should Also Read:
Calendar of African Holidays
Mau Mau Rebellion

Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2023 by Jeanne Egbosiuba Ukwendu. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Jeanne Egbosiuba Ukwendu. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact BellaOnline Administration for details.