g Text Version
Beauty & Self
Books & Music
Food & Wine
Health & Fitness
Hobbies & Crafts
Home & Garden
News & Politics
Religion & Spirituality
Travel & Culture
TV & Movies

Bored? Games!
Take a Quiz
Rate My Photo

Natural Living
Folklore and Mythology
Distance Learning

All times in EST

Full Schedule
g Anime Site

BellaOnline's Anime Editor


Escaflowne Complete Collection

Guest Author - Lesley Aeschliman

Escaflowne Complete Collection is an eight-disc DVD set that contains all 26 episodes of The Vision of Escaflowne. The first two discs each contain four episodes and bonus features. The remaining six discs each contain three episodes and bonus features.

On each disc, you can choose if you want to see the episodes with English or Japanese audio. You can also choose whether or not to have the subtitles on. For playing the episodes, you can choose to play them all, or you can select the number of the episode you want to watch. I have to say that I really didn't like the navigation for the DVD menus. I thought the navigation was rather cumbersome. This is particularly true when you decide to watch a particular episode on the disc. The menu for the individual episodes is laid out in a strange way, and you have to go roundabout ways to get to the part of the episode you want to watch.

The bonus feature on the first disc is four music videos for The Vision of Escaflowne (a textless version of the opening theme, "Friend," "Blue Eyes," and "Into the Light"). This feature runs for about thirteen minutes. On discs two through seven, the bonus feature is "Club Escaflowne." These are interviews with voice actors, production staff, and the writer and director for The Vision of Escaflowne. These interviews run anywhere in length from eight to 20 minutes.

The final disc in the set contains three bonus features. The first is labeled as "Playstation Game Footage." This runs for about eight minutes, and is comprised of what appears to be "cut scenes" from the Escaflowne video game. The next feature is a roughly two-and-a-half minute trailer for Escaflowne: The Movie. The final feature on the disc is a five-minute concert video for Maaya Sakamoto performing at a special concert at a screening for Escaflowne: The Movie.

Each disc also contains trailers for other properties released by Bandai Entertainment. Scattered throughout the eight discs, you can find trailers for: Angel Links, The Big O, Blue Submarine No. 6, Cowboy Bebop, Crest of Stars, Don't Leave Me Alone Daisy, Gundam 0083, Gundam 08th M Team, Gundam Wing, Haunted Junction, Jubei-chan, Mobile Suit Gundam, Outlaw Star, and Saber Marionette J.

While I understand that this box set just gathers up the eight individually released discs into one collection, I wish more effort had been taken to put this set together. It would have worked better if they had tried to get more episodes onto each disc, and then focused the bonus features on one or two discs. In the long run, the set probably would have had fewer discs in it if they had done this. But even with the flaws this set has, I would still recommend it for anyone who is a fan of The Vision of Escaflowne.

I wrote this review after watching a copy of this DVD box set that my husband purchased for me as a gift.

Disc 1
Disc 2
Disc 3
Disc 4
Fateful Confession
The Girl From the Mystic Moon
The Gallant Swordsman
The Diabolical Adonis

Bonus Features
Seal of the Brothers
Capitol Of Intrigue
Unexpected Partings
The Day the Angel Flew

Bonus Features
Memories of a Feather
The Blue-Eyed Prince
Prophecy Of Death

Bonus Features
The Secret Door
Red Destiny
Dangerous Wounds

Bonus Features

Disc 1
Disc 2
Disc 3
Disc 4
Lost Paradise
The Guided Ones
The Edge of the World

Bonus Features
The Gravity of Destiny
Operation Golden Rule of Love
False Vows

Bonus Features
Reaction Of Fortune
The Black Winged Angel
Storm Premonition

Bonus Features
Fateful Decision
Zone of Absolute Fortune
Eternal Love

Bonus Features
This site needs an editor - click to learn more!

Add Escaflowne+Complete+Collection to Twitter Add Escaflowne+Complete+Collection to Facebook Add Escaflowne+Complete+Collection to MySpace Add Escaflowne+Complete+Collection to Del.icio.us Digg Escaflowne+Complete+Collection Add Escaflowne+Complete+Collection to Yahoo My Web Add Escaflowne+Complete+Collection to Google Bookmarks Add Escaflowne+Complete+Collection to Stumbleupon Add Escaflowne+Complete+Collection to Reddit

The Vision of Escaflowne
Escaflowne The Movie
Escaflowne The Movie DVD
Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

For FREE email updates, subscribe to the Anime Newsletter

Past Issues

Printer Friendly
tell friend
Tell a Friend
Email Editor

Content copyright © 2015 by Lesley Aeschliman. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Lesley Aeschliman. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact BellaOnline Administration for details.


g features
The Wallflower Episode Two Recap

Subscribe To The Anime Newsletter

The Wallflower Episode One Recap

Archives | Site Map


Past Issues

Less than Monthly

BellaOnline on Facebook

| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2016 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor