Negima! The Complete Collection

Negima! The Complete Collection
Negima! The Complete Collection is a four-disc DVD set that includes all 26 episodes of the original Negima! series. The set is packaged in two thinpack DVD boxes, and each thinpack box includes two DVDs. The first two discs include seven episodes, while the third disc contains six episodes, and the final disc includes six episodes and the special features.

When you start watching the set, Negima! comes off as a rather light-hearted show. But as you progress through the series, the tone starts changing. The tonal change becomes a bit more noticeable on disc three, and the tonal shift is completed on disc four. By the end of disc four, expect to see some pathos, and you might need a handkerchief while watching a couple of the episodes.

On the menu for the first three DVDs, there is "Play All," "Episodes," and "Setup." It should be noted that the “Episodes” selection is not a "scene selection” menu. Instead of being able to choose which part of an episode you want to see, all you can do is select which episode to watch. The menu is programmed to automatically go to the opening for the episode you select. In the setup menu, you can choose whether to have English Stereo or Japanese Stereo for your audio. You can also choose whether to have the subtitles on or off.

On the fourth disc, there is a menu option for the special features added to the list of options. For special features, there is a textless version of the opening, textless versions of both endings, as well as trailers. There are trailers for Ouran High School Host Club, Ragnarok, Case Closed, Negima, Tsubasa, Save Me! Lollipop, One Piece, and xxxHOLiC. It should be noted that the trailer for Negima is for the re-imagined version of the series, not the series included in this DVD set.

In some respects, I'm a little disappointed with the lack of special features; however, this could be due to the fact that FUNimation may not have been able to acquire the rights for more. I'm also a little disappointed with the fact that the "Episodes" menu is not a "scene selection" menu. Even with its flaws, this set is still a worthwhile addition to your anime DVD library if you're a fan of the original Negima! series.

I wrote this review after watching a copy of this DVD box set that my husband purchased for me as a gift.

Disc 1
Disc 2
The Blockhead in the Professor's Chair
Every Beginning Is Difficult
Lovers, Lunatics
No Place Is Like Home
Rumor Flies
Between a Rock and a Hard Place
The Appearances of Things Are Deceptive
One Night Befalls All of Us
I'll Get You, Wascally Wabbit!
Where There Is Harmony, There Is Victory
When They Are Silent, They Are Shouting
Either Learn or Leave
We Live and Learn
I Hope the Memory of Our Friendship Will be Eternal

Disc 3
Disc 4
A Reliable Friend Is Perceived in an Uncertain Situation
Love and a Cough Are Not Kept Secret
Nothing Is Difficult for a Lover
Love Does Not Recognize Rank
Words Fly Away, Those Written Remain
Unless You Have Believed, You Will Not Understand

It Must Not at All be Depressing
It Is Difficult to Make a Joke With a Sad Mind
Remember To Die
Both Weapons and Words Wound
Death Is Certain, the Time Is Uncertain
Not for Me, Not for You, But for Us

Bonus Features

This site needs an editor - click to learn more!

You Should Also Read:

Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2021 by Lesley Aeschliman. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Lesley Aeschliman. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact BellaOnline Administration for details.