Naruto Shippuden Box Set 9

Naruto Shippuden Box Set 9
Naruto Shippuden Box Set 9 is a three DVD set that contains episodes 101 through 112 of Naruto Shippuden. The first two discs contain four episodes each, while the third disc contains four episodes and the set's special features.

All of the episodes in this set continue the story arc that began in Naruto Shippuden Box Set 8. Orochimaru and Kabuto have a woman named Guren be in charge of a boy named Yukimaru. It turns out Yukimaru has the ability to control the Three-Tail Demon; this demon currently does not have a jinchuriki host. Guren and Yukimaru form a bond, but it turns out Guren holds a secret in regard to what happened to Yukimaru's mother. Guren has help from some of Orochimaru's former prisoners to try to keep the ninja from the Leaf Village at bay.

It turns out that the Akatsuki also has its eyes on the Three-Tail Demon. Deidara and Tobi have been given the task of acquiring the demon. The story arc in this disc features the Leaf Village ninja trying to seal the demon, while Orochimaru and the Akatsuki are trying to acquire the beat for their own purposes. This particular storyline is resolved in the final episode in this set.

On one hand, this story arc did feel like it was a little on the long side. However, this wasn't due to trying to pad the story out to make it last for more episodes. This particular story arc really needed all of the episodes it took to tell the story. The storyline itself was good, but there were several scenes within the episodes in this set that had some rather poor animation; there were times when the animators were using little to no detail as they animated some of the scenes. Some scenes also utilized some computer animation that really stood out from the rest of the animation.

When it comes to the actual DVD box set, it's just like the previous four sets, because only one disc includes any bonus features. The first two discs include a trailer for Naruto Shippuden The Movie: Bonds when the disc first starts playing before proceeding to the main menu.

There are a total of six bonus features included on the third disc. The first is "New From Viz Media," which is six screens of ads for Shonen Jump manga titles: Naruto, Bleach, Blue Exorcist, Ultimo, and Nura: Rise of the Yokai Clan. "Online Features" includes two screens that show where Viz Media titles can be purchased online. "English Credits" allows you to see the credits for the English dub of the series.

"Storyboards" includes 10 screens of storyboards from episodes in this Naruto Shippuden set; I'm happy to report that the storyboards have returned to the traditional black lines on a white background. By returning to this format, it makes the storyboards much easier to see on the screen. However, I still wish an option had been included to watch the scene from the anime that the storyboard is showing.

"Production Art" includes 10 pages of production sketches of the characters that appear in this Naruto Shippuden set. Again, Viz has returned these to the traditional black lines on a white background. By returning to this format, the production art was much easier to see.

The final extra is "Omake," which is a collection of the short pieces included after the ending credits of Naruto Shippuden. On this set, I believe all of the omake are comedic in nature. However, I do think with some of the omake, it was becoming clear that the writers were starting to run out of ideas to use for this feature.

Just like on the previous boxes that this feature appeared on, the omake are shown back-to-back in one continuous piece, and the English dub versions of the omake are used for this feature. I still wish there was a menu to choose which omake you wanted to watch.

If you're a fan of the Naruto franchise and want to have all of the episodes of the series on DVD, then I would recommend purchasing this box set in order to add it to your home video collection.

I wrote this review after watching a copy of this DVD box set that I checked out through the King County Library System.

Disc 1
Disc 2
Disc 3
Everyone's Feelings
The Four-Corner Sealing Barrier
Breaking the Crystal Style

The Battle Over the Barrier
Red Camellia
Strange Bedfellows
Guidepost of the Camellia

Counterattack of the Curse Mark
Memory Of Guilt
Shattered Promise
A Place to Return To

Bonus Features

This site needs an editor - click to learn more!

You Should Also Read:
Naruto Shippuden Box Set 7
Naruto Shippuden Box Set 8

Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2021 by Lesley Aeschliman. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Lesley Aeschliman. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact BellaOnline Administration for details.