BTP - Blast to the Past Books Series

BTP - Blast to the Past Books Series
The Blast to the Past Books series is by Stacia Deutsch and Rhody Cohon.

This is a series of early reader chapter books especially written for children eight to twelve-years-old. Early chapter books help children convert from picture books to chapter books. There is usually an illustration in each chapter to give visual clues to the text, ant eh books usually contain over a hundred pages with short chapters..

For those unacquainted with the Blast to the Past Books series, this will provide some background information. .. Mr. C or Mr. Caruthers is a history teacher and part-time scientist who has invented a time machine. Babs McGee steals it, and wants fame without doing any of the actual work necessary to create or invent. Her idea is to travel to the past to the take credit for the creations or inventions and ideas of others.

When she stole the Time Machine she also stole a copy of Mr. Caruthers’ list of famous Americans. Her plan it so make historic people quit following their dreams and/or make them stop doing whatever they were supposed to do or invent.

Now, when Mr. Caruthers discovers a famous person missing in the textbook, but instead finds Babs McGee instead, he knows that historical corrections are needed.

The task of making these corrections falls to the History Club which meets after school on Mondays. The History Club tasked with making corrections is made up of four third-graders: Abigail, Zack, Bo and Jacob

With the aid of a second time machine are able to return to the past and undo McGee’s mischief. Club members move from one time to another by time portals. However, it seems that McGee is always one step ahead of the kids.

Throughout the books, the readers and club members learn important historical facts. The facts inserted in the stories do not slow the pace of the books. Your children can identify with the students in the History Club as they are reading about history in their own classrooms while reading at school. They will find the Blast to the Past books series entertaining, and amusing and full of action. At the end of each Blast to the Past book, there are more historical facts about the true person.

Blast to the Past Series

1. Lincoln’s Legacy

2. Disney’s Dream

3. Bell’s Breakthrough

4. King’s Courage

5. Sacagawea’s Strength

6. Ben Franklin’s Fame

7. Washington’s War

8. Betsy Ross’s Star

You Should Also Read:
Magic Tree House Books
Boxcar Children Mystery Books 1-19

Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2022 by Launa Stout. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Launa Stout. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Launa Stout for details.