Does the LPGA have a new Tigeress?

Does the LPGA have a new Tigeress?
After much to do about Michelle Wie joining the Pro LPGA at age 16 we are all waiting to see if she will be the next Tiger Woods of golf. She entered the Samsung World Championship as a professional this past week with all the fanfare and interviews awarded a star. Michelle is no slouch when it comes to her golf game as a tall six foot young gal from Hawaii, she can play the game. She has a great talent that will take her a long way once the hoopla of such a young girl entering the professional tour wears out.

I am sure she will bring more attention to the Ladies Professional Golf Tour which will be a good thing. She handles herself well under pressure and during her many interviews. She was mature in her statements and her plans for her future. I enjoyed watching her this week even though she had some trouble with her putting she fought back to score well. She became frustrated with her putting just like the rest of us.

Annika Sorenstam is taking the game to a new level and was running away from all the others in this tournament, she finished with 19 under. Her closest competitor was 10 under while Michelle Wie was 8 under. I admire how these two ladies have dedicated themselves to bring their game to a new level. It also will add so much to the LPGA tour and bring more people to watch these events. Both Annika and Michelle will be good role models for young girls to prove to them that hard work and dedication will lead one to success in what ever you choose to do.

UPDATE: Following my posting this article I read in the newspaper this morning that Michelle Wie was disqualified. It seems the day before she had told her partner that she had an unplayable lie and was taking a stroke and dropped her ball. After play on Sunday she and her caddie were taken back to the 7th Hole and had to demostrate just where her ball had landed. It was determined that her ball landed closer to the hole so was disqualified.

I find this very strange as it had been a day late in whoever reported this infraction to the rules committee. It also seems strange that they could determine exactly where her ball came to rest. The officials had reviewed the TV showing and therefore decided to disqualify her. No mention of who it was that reported this happening after the tournament was over.

It was a rude awakening to Michelle that she is now playing Professional golf and she mentioned that hereafter she would call a rules official before proceeding. It all seemed very strange to have it happen after everything was over. I am sure she will never make that mistake again.

Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2022 by Letta Meinen. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Letta Meinen. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Sandy Eggers for details.