Star Wars for Young Readers - part 1

Star Wars for Young Readers - part 1
While the latest Star Wars movie may not be suitable for young kids, there are many novels written just for younger fans. Most of these titles explore what happened before, between and after each of the movies; enough to keep your kids happy. Please note some of the titles listed may be older and out of print. Be sure to look for Part 2, coming soon!

Levelled Readers
· Galactic Crisis by Ryder Windham (DK Readers, Level 4)
· Star Pilot by Laura Buller (2005) (DK Readers, Level 3)
· Obi-Wan's Foeby Jane Mason (2005) (Step Into Reading. Step 4)
· Luke's Fate by Jim Thomas (1996) (Step into Reading, Step 3)
· Jango Fett: Bounty Hunter by Eric Arnold (2002) (Step into Reading: Jedi Readers, Step 3 Book)
· Anakin: Apprentice by Marc Cerasini (2002) (Step into Reading: Jedi Readers, Step 4 Book)
· Star Wars Episode I: Jar-Jar's Mistake by Nancy Krulik (1991) (Step into Reading: Jedi Readers, Step 1)
· Star Wars Episode I: Anakin's Fate by John Alvin (1999) (A Step into Reading: Jedi Reader, Step 4)

Movie Novelizations
for readers age 9-12
· Episode I: The Phantom Menace by Patricia Wrede (1999)
· Episode II: Attack of the Clones by Patricia Wrede (2002)
· Episode III: Revenge of the Sith by Patricia Wrede (2005)
· Star Wars by Larry Weinberg (2004)
· The Empire Strikes Back by Larry Weinberg (2004)
· Return of the Jedi by Elizabeth Levy (2004)

Jedi Apprentice Seires
Published by Scholastic for readers age 9-12
The novels in this series center on Obi-Wan’s youth
· The Rising Force (1999) by Dave Wolverton
· The Dark Rival (1999) by Jude Watson
· The Hidden Past (1999) by Jude Watson
· The Mark of the Crown (1999) by Jude Watson
· Defenders of the Dead (1999) by Jude Watson
· The Uncertain Path (2000) by Jude Watson
· The Captive Temple (2000) by Jude Watson
· The Day of Reckoning (2000) by Jude Watson
· The Fight for Truth (2000) by Jude Watson
· The Shattered Peace (2000) by Jude Watson
· The Deadly Hunter (2000) by Jude Watson
· The Evil Experiment (2001) by Jude Watson
· The Dangerous Rescue (2001) by Jude Watson
· The Ties That Bind (2001) by Jude Watson
· The Death of Hope (2001) by Jude Watson
· The Call to Vengeance (2001) by Jude Watson
· The Only Witness (2002) by Jude Watson
· The Threat Within (2002) by Jude Watson
· Deceptions (2001) by Jude Watson
· The Followers (2002) by Jude Watson

The Clone Wars
Published by Scholastic for readers age 9-12
· Hunted by Elizabeth Hand (2003)
· Boba Fett - Pursuit by Elizabeth Hand (2004)

Boba Fett
Published by Scholastic for readers age 9-12
These four novels center around the bounty hunter, Boba Fett.
· The Fight to Survive by Terry Bisson (2003)
· Crossfire by Terry Bisson (2003)
· Maze of Deception by Elizabeth Hand (2003)
· A New Threat by Elizabeth Hand (2004)

Galaxy of Fear
Written by John Whitman
Published by Skylark for readers age 9-12
I couldn't find much information about this series, other than it takes place in the Star Wars galaxy.
· Eaten Alive (1997)
· City of the Dead (1997)
· Planet Plague (1997)
· The Nightmare Machine (1997)
· Ghost of the Jedi (1997)
· Army of Terror (1997)
· The Brain Spiders (1997)
· The Swarm (1998)
· Spore (1998)
· The Doomsday Ship (1998)
· Clones (1998)
· The Hunger (1998)

===> Go to part 2

Buy these posters at

Star Wars - Revenge of the Sith - Jedi Battle Yoda Star Wars Special Edition

You Should Also Read:
Star Wars for Young Readers - part 2
New Skies - a review

Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2023 by Laura Lehman. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Laura Lehman. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Evelyn Rainey for details.