g Text Version
Beauty & Self
Books & Music
Food & Wine
Health & Fitness
Hobbies & Crafts
Home & Garden
News & Politics
Religion & Spirituality
Travel & Culture
TV & Movies

Bored? Games!
Take a Quiz
Rate My Photo

Natural Living
Folklore and Mythology
Distance Learning

All times in EST

Full Schedule
g SF/Fantasy Books Site

BellaOnline's SF/Fantasy Books Editor


Science Fiction and Fantasy Awards

Guest Author - Laura Lehman

Each spring, the Nebula Awards are given to the best eligible fiction as voted on by member of the Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America. Also a part of the Nebula awards is the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master, an award given in recognition of lifetime achievement in Science Fiction and Fantasy.
--Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America site (includes information about the Nebulas)

The Hugo Awards are nominated and voted upon by the membership of the World Science Fiction Society. They are awarded at each year’s World Science Fiction Convention (WorldCon). The Award is named for Hugo Gernsback, a pioneer in Science Fiction magazines. Also given at WorldCon is the John W Campbell Award for the Best New Writer.
--World Science Fiction Society site (includes information about the Hugos and WorldCon)

The World Fantasy Awards are awarded at the World Fantasy Convention, held in various locations at the end of October. The winners are selcted by appointed judges rather than the membership of the World Fantasy Convention.
--World Fantasy Convention site (included information about the World Fantasy Awards)

The Arthur C Clarke Award is a British award for Science Fiction novels. The British Science Fiction Society and The Science Fiction Foundation currently sponsor the award.
--Arthur C Clarke Award site
--British Science Fiction Association site
--Science Fiction Foundation site

The Phillip K Dick Award is given to noteworthy Science Fiction paperback originals in the US. The Philadelphia Science Fiction Society sponsors the Award and it is presented at each year’s Norwescon.
--Philip K Dick Award site
--Philadelphia Science Fiction Society site
--Norwecon site

The James Tiptree Jr Award honors Science Fiction of Fantasy that explores the role of gender. It was named for Alice B Sheldon who wrote under the name James Tiptree Jr.
--James Tiptree Jr Award site

The Aurealis Award is given to the best Australian works of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror.
--Aurealis Award site

Australia’s Ditmar Award is similar to the American Hugo. Members of Australia’s National Science Fiction Convention vote on the year’s best Science Fiction.
--Ditmar Award site
--Ditmar Award site

The Prix Aurora Awards are given to Canadian works of Science Fiction and Fantasy (both French and English). They are sponsored by the Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association.
--Prix Aurora Award site

The Sunburst Award recognizes Canadian works of speculative fiction.
--Sunburst Awards site

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for adults published during the past year that best exemplifies "the spirit of the Inklings" (J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and Charles Williams). The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams.
--2004 Mythopoeic Award winners
The Mythopoeic Society site
Add Science+Fiction+and+Fantasy+Awards to Twitter Add Science+Fiction+and+Fantasy+Awards to Facebook Add Science+Fiction+and+Fantasy+Awards to MySpace Add Science+Fiction+and+Fantasy+Awards to Digg Science+Fiction+and+Fantasy+Awards Add Science+Fiction+and+Fantasy+Awards to Yahoo My Web Add Science+Fiction+and+Fantasy+Awards to Google Bookmarks Add Science+Fiction+and+Fantasy+Awards to Stumbleupon Add Science+Fiction+and+Fantasy+Awards to Reddit

RSS | Related Articles | Editor's Picks Articles | Top Ten Articles | Previous Features | Site Map

For FREE email updates, subscribe to the SF/Fantasy Books Newsletter

Past Issues

Printer Friendly
tell friend
Tell a Friend
Email Editor

Content copyright © 2018 by Laura Lehman. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Laura Lehman. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Evelyn Rainey for details.


g features
INTERVIEW 1 Tom Howard

INTERVIEW 2 Liisa Evastina

INTERVIEW 2 Graeme Smith

Archives | Site Map


Past Issues

Note: BellaOnline uses cookies to help provide a consistent user experience. Our advertisers may use cookies to help customize ads. Please contact us with any question about our cookie use.

Summertime Foods
Corn on the Cob
Burgers on the Grill
Apple Pie


| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2018 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.

BellaOnline Editor