logo
g Text Version
Beauty & Self
Books & Music
Career
Computers
Education
Family
Food & Wine
Health & Fitness
Hobbies & Crafts
Home & Garden
Money
News & Politics
Relationships
Religion & Spirituality
Sports
Travel & Culture
TV & Movies

dailyclick
Bored? Games!
Nutrition
Postcards
Take a Quiz
Rate My Photo

new
European Travel
Action Movies
Bible Basics
Houseplants
Romance Movies
Creativity
Family Travel


dailyclick
All times in EST

Full Schedule
g
g SF/Fantasy Books Site

BellaOnline's SF/Fantasy Books Editor

g

A Dance with Dragons by George R. R. Martin

Guest Author - Laura Lehman

A Dance with Dragons is the complicated continuation of the Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin. The war of the five kings is coming to an end in Westeros. In the north, King Stannis Baratheon has made his temporary seat at the Wall in an effort to win over the northmen. While Stannis calls upon the the Stark bannermen to take up his cause, the Lannisters have placed Roose Bolton at Winterfell. On the Wall, Jon Snow has been elected as the New Lord Commander. In addition to King Stannis and his red priestess making demands, he has to deal with the wildings and the ever increasing activity of the fearsome undead Others.

In the East, Daenerys Targaryen has conquered Mereen and set all the slaves free. While the lower classes adore Daenerys, rebels stalk her new city, murdering loyal citizens. If she marries a local noble, it may appease those who see her as a foreigner and end the murders. All the time, her three dragons continue to grow and become increasing dangerous and uncontrollable. Many see them as a threat to their farms and their families, calling for their deaths.

A Dance with Dragons also follows the story of Tyrion as he flees from the murder charges set against him, Arya as she stays with the House of Black and White , and Bran as he searches for the mysterious three eyed crow from his dreams.

While I am an avid fan of the Song of Ice and Fire series, this particular book would not be my favorite. While the writing is wonderful, the action plentiful and the characters vivid, I came away feeling as if I didn't get very far in the story. I understand that goes with having and epic storyline and gigantic cast of characters, but I feel frustrated not to learn more of the stories, especially the Others. With so much of the book devoted to happenings at the Wall, I would have liked at least a hint as to what the Others are.

My Recommendation
For fans of Song of Ice and Fire, this is a no- brainer. My only criticism of A Dance with Dragons is that I wish there was more.


A Dance with Dragons by George R. R. Martin
Published by Bantam
1040 pages


A Dance with Dragons by George R. R. Martin is available at Amazon.com
Add A+Dance+with+Dragons+by+George+R%2E+R%2E+Martin to Twitter Add A+Dance+with+Dragons+by+George+R%2E+R%2E+Martin to Facebook Add A+Dance+with+Dragons+by+George+R%2E+R%2E+Martin to MySpace Add A+Dance+with+Dragons+by+George+R%2E+R%2E+Martin to Del.icio.us Digg A+Dance+with+Dragons+by+George+R%2E+R%2E+Martin Add A+Dance+with+Dragons+by+George+R%2E+R%2E+Martin to Yahoo My Web Add A+Dance+with+Dragons+by+George+R%2E+R%2E+Martin to Google Bookmarks Add A+Dance+with+Dragons+by+George+R%2E+R%2E+Martin to Stumbleupon Add A+Dance+with+Dragons+by+George+R%2E+R%2E+Martin to Reddit




A Game of Thrones by George R R Maritn
A Clash of Kings by George R R Martin
A Storm of Swords by George R R Martin
RSS
Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map


For FREE email updates, subscribe to the SF/Fantasy Books Newsletter


Past Issues


print
Printer Friendly
bookmark
Bookmark
tell friend
Tell a Friend
forum
Forum
email
Email Editor


Content copyright © 2014 by Laura Lehman. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Laura Lehman. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Evelyn Rainey for details.

g


g features
Field of Fantasies book review

Stacey Costas book review

CreativeCon

Archives | Site Map

forum
Forum
email
Contact

Past Issues
memberscenter


vote
Poetry
Daily
Weekly
Monthly
Less than Monthly



BellaOnline on Facebook
g


| About BellaOnline | Privacy Policy | Advertising | Become an Editor |
Website copyright © 2014 Minerva WebWorks LLC. All rights reserved.


BellaOnline Editor