Eragon, Inheritance Book 1

Eragon, Inheritance Book 1
Christopher Paolini’s novel Eragon is coming-of-age story about a fifteen-year-old boy of the same name. Eragon’s parentage is unknown. He lives with his uncle and cousin. A farmer’s life is hard, but he has his family.

Eragon is a great hunter. He travels the local Spine mountains in search of deer. The venison is for the family’s winter provisions. Eragon is not successful on this hunt. He does find a blue stone which he takes home. Maybe he can sell it for winter meat.

The mysterious blue stone is not as it appears. Ownership of the stone changes Eragon’s life. We, the readers, get to share the young man’s wonderful life changes.

Eragon’s setting is during the middle ages. There are no mansions; there are castles. Fortress walls surround cities. Warriors wear armor and chain mail. Swords and bow and quiver are the weapons of choice.

Eragon is a fantasy story complete with elves and dwarfs. There are witches and wizards. Paolini has some new characters found only in Eragon. He has Urgals and Shades. And there are the Dragon Riders!

Dragon Riders are elves and humans who fly over the countryside on dragons. Yes, the fire breathing kind! The Riders have amazing strength and cunning. They do magic and speak the secret old language.

If you enjoy the J R R Tolkein novels, you will surely like this book. The mysteries blend well with the fantasy. What will happen next? Turn the pages and enter the fantastic world of Eragon. The book has five hundred pages, but you will attempt to read it in one sitting.

Read a copy of Eragon. Try your local library for a copy. If your library doesn’t have the book, get one online. Christopher Paolini’s novel, Eldest, is the second in the Inheritance Trilogy. Brisingr is the third installment. Eragon and Eldest are now together in one convenient volume. Read the fantasy novels before the release of Brisingr.

Inheritance Trilogy by Christopher Paolini


Eragon the movie is now available on DVD.

Sign up for the free newsletter. Don't miss any new articles.

Children's Adventure Books

Dr. Seuss Books
Don Freeman's Books
Stan Berenstain's Books
Magic Tree House Books
Chronicles of Narnia Books
A Series of Unfortunate Events Books
Note: Eragon by Christopher Paolini review copy was received from the library.

You Should Also Read:
The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
The Golden Compass (Northern Lights)
Inkheart by Conelia Funke

Related Articles
Editor's Picks Articles
Top Ten Articles
Previous Features
Site Map

Content copyright © 2023 by Taisha Turner. All rights reserved.
This content was written by Taisha Turner. If you wish to use this content in any manner, you need written permission. Contact Launa Stout for details.